ShareThis Page

Nineteen Gateway players voted to Quad East football all-star teams

Michael Love
| Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2012, 8:50 p.m.
Senior Mileak Ford is one of 11 Gateway football players to earn Quad East first-team honors for the 2012 season. Aaron Loughner | For The Times Express
(c) 2012 Aaron Loughner
Senior Mileak Ford is one of 11 Gateway football players to earn Quad East first-team honors for the 2012 season. Aaron Loughner | For The Times Express

The Gateway football team regained its status as a conference champion in 2012 after watching Mc Keesport and Penn-Trafford take conference titles in 2010 and 2011, respectively.

The Gators went undefeated in the Quad East this fall at 8-0, and that mark included victories over the Warriors (42-0) and Tigers (21-6).

A tough 17-14 loss to Woodland Hills in the WPIAL quarterfinals at Norwin High School was a sudden end to the season, and Gateway finished with a 9-2 overall record.

The Gators dominated the Quad East all-star teams. It placed 19 on the first, second and honorable-mention teams, including a conference-best 11 on the first team.

Seniors Jaymar Parrish (linebacker), Darin Franklin (running back), Thomas Woodson (Quarterback), Anthony Parente (offensive line), R.J. Hughes (offensive line), and Mileak Ford (linebacker) were first-team selections in a vote of the conference's coaches.

Juniors Montae Nicholson (wide receiver), Anthony Davis (defensive back), Delvon Randall (defensive back), Joe Robak (offensive line) and Brenon Thrift (defensive line) also were named to the first team.

Parrish led the Gateway defense in tackles with 83, and he added five sacks, while Thrift was second in tackles (54), and he tied for the team lead in sacks with six.

Ford ranked third in total tackles with 44 and had two sacks and two interceptions, while Davis was fourth in tackles (40) and topped the defense with six interceptions.

Randall also had as strong season defensively with 34 tackles.

Robak, Parente and Hughes helped form a dominant offensive line and open holes for a potent running game and protected Woodson in the passing attack.

Woodson finished with 2,395 yards passing and 23 touchdowns against only four interceptions, while Nicholson caught 25 passes for 653 yards and a team-best seven receiving touchdowns.

Franklin missed two games this season, but he was able to rack up 471 yards and six touchdowns on 65 carries.

Seniors Andre Martin (running back), Todd Jeter (defensive back) and Brandon Madjerich (defensive line) earned second-team honors.

Martin battled through injury the last half of the season, and in eight games, he gained 673 yards and scored 13 touchdowns on 79 attempts. All three were team highs.

Jeter recorded 27 tackles and intercepted two passes, while Madjerich clogged up running lanes for opposing running backs and made 20 tackles in the trenches.

Five players — seniors David Wimbish (linebacker) and Tale Brisker (wide receiver) and juniors Steven Gross (defensive line), Jimmy Moore (defensive back) and Ricky Rogers (wide receiver) — were honorable-mention picks.

Gross tied for the team lead with six sacks, and Wimbish added 23 tackles and two sacks.

Moore added 14 tackles.

Rogers and Brisker were members of a deep receiver corps, and Brisker caught four passes for 105 yards and a touchdown, while Rogers hauled in nine passes for 193 yards and three scores.

Chesapeake Bowl

Woodson, Parrish, Jeter, Parente, Hughes and Ford will represent Gateway on the North Team at the annual Chesapeake Bowl all-star football game on Dec. 29 at 2 p.m. at Marvin S. Wilson Stadium in Prince George's County Maryland.

The Gators players will join five other WPIAL seniors, as well as those from Pennsylvania and New Jersey, on the North squad.

The South team features players from Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia.

Michael Love is a staff writer with Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 412-388-5825 or at

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.