ShareThis Page

Clairton's Boyd named state's player of the year

| Wednesday, Dec. 19, 2012, 4:38 p.m.
Clairton's Tyler Boyd scores the Bears' first touchdown past Dunmore's Mike Kolcharno during the first quarter of the PIAA Class A state championship game Friday Dec. 14, 2012 in Hershey.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Christopher Horner
Clairton's Tyler Boyd scores the Bears' first touchdown past Dunmore's Mike Kolcharno during the first quarter of the PIAA Class A state championship game Friday Dec. 14, 2012 in Hershey. Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Clairton's Tyler Boyd.
Christopher Horner  |  Tribune-Review
Christopher Horner
Clairton's Tyler Boyd. Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review

Just days after winning a fourth-straight PIAA Class A football championship, the honors continue to pour in for members of the Clairton football team.

Five Bears were named to the Pennsylvania Sportswriters All-State team, including senior running back Tyler Boyd, who was named the Class A Player of the Year for the second straight season.

“Tyler is the greatest player I have ever seen,” Clairton coach Tom Nola said. “All the adjectives said about him are true. He runs like Marcus Allen. I fully expect him to be in the NFL. He just has that special kind of talent. There is nothing he can't do on the football field.”

Senior teammates Terrish Webb (wide receiver), Devonte Harvey (offensive line), Robert Boatright (defensive lineman) and Titus Howard (defensive back) also received honors.

Boyd, who was recognized as an athlete, finished his career as the WPIAL's all-time leader with 117 career touchdowns, seven more than the previous record holder, Rushel Shell of Hopewell. He ended up fifth on the all-time WPIAL rushing yardage list with 5,755 yards and has received more than 25 scholarship offers.

This year, he rushed for 2,584 yards, had 51 touchdowns and helped Clairton continue a state-record 63-game winning streak.

Friday, he helped Clairton to a 20-0 victory over Dunmore in the PIAA finals at Hersheypark Stadium with 117 yards.

All-state teams for Classes A and AA were released Wednesday, with the AAA and AAAA squads to be unveiled Thursday.

Monessen's Chavas Rawlins (quarterback), Sto-Rox's Lenny Williams (quarterback) and Chartiers-Houston's Garrett Vulcano (linebacker) also were honored in Class A.

In District 6, Danny Ferens from Penns Manor and Alex Atkins from Northern Cambria also were recognized in Class A. Ferens was a repeat selection.

Dunmore's Jack Henzes was named Class A coach of the year.

The WPIAL also was well-represented in Class AA: Aliquippa's Jaleel Fields (offensive line), Terry Swanson (athlete) and Dravon Henry (defensive back); South Fayette's Brett Brumbaugh (quarterback) and Zach Challingsworth (wide receiver); Washington's Shai McKenzie (running back) and Jaylin Kelly (linebacker); Seton-La Salle's Scott Orndoff (tight end); Burrell's Cole Bush (linebacker); and Beaver Falls' Elijah Cottrill (defensive back). Challingsworth is a repeat selection.

Defensive lineman Stuart Urch from District 6 Ligonier Valley also was honored.

Wyomissing linebacker Alex Anzalone, a Notre Dame recruit, was named the Class AA Player of the Year, and Wyomissing's Bob Wofrum was tabbed Coach of the Year.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.