Rawlins, Pacak lead Black Hills All-Stars

| Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2013, 12:01 a.m.

It's no secret that the 2013 season in the Black Hills Conference was a big success for the Monessen Greyhounds.

After all, Monessen (10-2) shared the conference crown and received its top seed in the playoffs and the Greyhounds were the team that ended Clairton's record 66-game winning streak with a 42-28 win at Clairton.

When the conference released its 2013 Media All-Star Team, the Greyhounds' success was obvious when glancing at the 13-player offensive and defensive list.

No less than five Greyhounds were among the 26 players to be honored with senior linebacker Justice Rawlins picking up Defensive Most Valuable Player honors and Monessen coach Andy Pacak winning Coach of the Year honors.

Joining Rawlins on the Media Team were seniors Clintell Gillaspie, Justice Tartt, Kayne Jackson and Javon Brown.

Rawlins was named all-state as a freshman and then suffered a serious knee injury that wiped out his sophomore season.

He rebounded to make all-conference a year ago and now is named the conference's top defensive player.

“I think that the conference's coaches really were impressed with his body of work the last two seasons and that is a real tribute for him to get that honor from the opposing coaches,” Pacak said.

Gillaspie led the Greyhounds in rushing (1,182 yards), receiving (679 yards) and scoring (204 points).

“Honestly, I thought Clintell hands down was the Offensive MVP this season, but I guess the other coaches thought differently,” Pacak said.

Brown not only was a top defensive back, he also had over 1,000 yards rushing and receiving combined and scored 12 touchdowns.

Rawlins, Gillaspie, Brown and Jackson all made all-conference last season.

Getting named Coach of the Year is more an honor for the Greyhounds' staff and players, said Pacak.

“I've been fortunate enough over the years to win this honor and while I do appreciate it, I think it is more a testament to the assistant coaches and the players because they do the road work that goes into someone like me getting that honor,” Pacak said.

California had one player make the Media Team, senior linebacker Austin Hunter.

Joining Monessen with five selections were Fort Cherry, including Offensive MVP running back Koltan Kobrys, and Carlynton.

Clairton and Brentwood had four each and Chartiers-Houston had two.

In addition to the Media Team, the coaches selected an All-Conference Team, that included four other Greyhounds, senior Jonathan Kravets and juniors Noah Rullo and Irvin Green and sophomore Lavelle Rush.

California's all-conference players were Austin Wingo, Cory Adams and Jared Magruda.

The All-Media and All-Conference teams will be honored at a banquet Nov. 21 at Doubletree at The Meadowlands.

Jeff Oliver is a sports editor for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 724-684-2666 or joliver@tribweb.com.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy