Numerous Gateway players earn all-conference recognition

Michael Love
| Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Gateway varsity football players are well represented on the Quad East Conference all-star teams.

The first-, second- and honorable-mention selections officially are released Thursday.

The Gators boast four players — all seniors — on the first team. They are Brenon Thrift at defensive end, Montae Nicholson at safety, Ricky Rogers at wide receiver and Zaihe Regus at linebacker.

Regus had a monster season defensively for Gateway as he set a school record with 148 tackles (76 solo). He had 10 tackles for a loss, intercepted two passes, forced two fumbles and recovered five others.

Thrift did damage to opposing quarterbacks and finished the season with a team-best 16 sacks to go along with 102 tackles (55 solo), good for second on the team behind Regus.

Nicholson, who also set school records as a wide receiver, finished third on the team in tackles with 68 (41 solo). He led the team with three interceptions.

He had four fumble recoveries and took two turnovers back for touchdowns.

Rogers was a part of a quartet of dangerous wide receivers for the Gators. He hauled in 32 passes for 449 yards and four touchdowns.

Seniors Joe Robak (defensive line), Anthony Davis (cornerback) and Delvon Randall (multipurpose offensive player) pick up second-team honors.

Robak anchored the offensive and defensive lines from his center and defensive tackle positions, and he finished with 48 tackles and three sacks.

Davis made 43 tackles and forced two fumbles.

On offense, Randall had a team-best 50 receptions and added 775 receiving yards and seven touchdowns. He totalled 44 rushing attempts for 217 yards and three scores.

At quarterback, Randall completed 8 of 15 passes for 175 yards and two touchdowns.

Eight players are honorable-mention picks, including senior quarterback Jimmy Moore.

Moore set school records for passing yards and touchdown passes in a single game. He completed 144 of 288 passes for 2,351 yards and 25 touchdowns.

Also tabbed as honorable-mentions are seniors Stephen Gross (defensive tackle), Devin Pinkett (linebacker) and Cameron Gray (defensive back); junior Dom Scassera (offensive guard); sophomore Adam White (running back); and freshmen Jordan Washington (kicker) and Robert Hainsey (offensive tackle).

The selections for all three Quad-A conferences are to be posted Thursday afternoon on the new Quad-A website at, and every Quad-A first-team honoree will be recognized at a luncheon Thursday in Monroeville.

Michael Love is a staff writer with Trib Total Media. He can be reached at or via Twitter @Mlove_Trib.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy