ShareThis Page

Banquet to honor Westmoreland County student-athletes

| Tuesday, March 29, 2016, 9:12 p.m.
Derry Area’s Micky Phillippi takes down Pen Argyl’s Chase Anklam in their 138-pound semifinal bout at the PIAA Class AA individual championships Friday, March 11, 2016, at Giant Center in Hershey. Phillippi won by a 10-3 decision.
Barry Reeger | Tribune-Review
Derry Area’s Micky Phillippi takes down Pen Argyl’s Chase Anklam in their 138-pound semifinal bout at the PIAA Class AA individual championships Friday, March 11, 2016, at Giant Center in Hershey. Phillippi won by a 10-3 decision.

As the Westmoreland County athletic directors announced the names and accomplishments of the 2016 classes, Judge John J. Driscoll reminded them of the difficult task they faced to determine the winners.

Some of the top student-athletes in the county will be honored at the 60th annual awards banquet sponsored by Driscoll on April 26 at Ferrante's Lakeview in Hempfield.

The 18 athletic directors or school representatives selected 12 finalists through a secret vote, then picked a male and female winner. The finalists and winners will be announced during the banquet.

“The accomplishments of these students are amazing,” Driscoll said. “They all come from different backgrounds. How these students find time to mix both academics and athletics is something unique.”

Many of the student-athletes participate in multiple sports, and some are at the top of their class.

Each school chose two students to represent their district. They had to meet certain academic standards to be nominated.

The candidates include three-time PIAA wrestling champion Micky Phillippi of Derry, PIAA place-winners in track, wrestling and swimming, and others who have earned NCAA Division I scholarships.

“It seems that these kids make it tougher and tougher to pick winners,” Driscoll said. “I worry that we'll make a mistake, but the group has been good at getting it right. All these kids are worthy of the honor.”

Tribune-Review sports writer Paul Schofield will receive the John and Michael Ferrante Memorial Award, given to an individual contributions to high school athletics. Schofield has covered high school athletics for 40 years, the past 21 years at the Tribune-Review.

IUP women's basketball coach Tom McConnell will be guest speaker.

This year's nominees are:

Belle Vernon: Sarah Sepesky (soccer and track) and Joseph Gruber (football, basketball and track).

Burrell: Brendan Lettrich (basketball) and Mackenzie Bindas (swimming).

Derry: Morgan Elrick (diving) and Micky Phillippi (cross country and wrestling).

Franklin Regional: Kathleen Kimmich (soccer and track) and Charlie Mazon (football and wrestling).

Latrobe: Hannah Mears (soccer, basketball and track) and Sean Graytok (basketball).

Greensburg Central Catholic: Michelle Karabin (track) and Tommy Pellis (football and baseball).

Greensburg Salem: Julia Howard (volleyball and track) and Derek Berberick (football and wrestling).

Hempfield: Molly Sternick (swimming and track) and Dominic Marshall (track).

Jeannette: Maggie Manolis (swimming) and Jefferson Jones (football).

Kiski Area: Letizia Collini (swimming) and Megan Aller (cross country, swimming and track).

Ligonier Valley: Hannah Patrick (track) and Philip Cornell (swimming).

Monessen: Shelby Minnardi (soccer and softball) and Zachary Baker (football and baseball).

Mt. Pleasant: Christine Kiral (soccer) and Joe Loughner (football and baseball).

Norwin: Alayna Gribble (basketball) and Drew Phipps (football and wrestling).

Penn-Trafford: Rachel Rizzardi (volleyball and track) and Brett Laffoon (football).

Southmoreland: Briana Bunner (volleyball, basketball and softball) and Ben Bickerton (cross country and track).

Valley: Janet Canady (soccer) and Ryan Pallone (baseball).

Yough: Macy Mularski (softball) and Jessica Moore (soccer).

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.