High school notebook: Franklin Regional to host East-West game

| Monday, March 24, 2014, 10:20 p.m.

Franklin Regional football coach Greg Botta, who serves as the WPIAL director for the Pennsylvania Football State Coaches Association, announced Monday that the annual East-West game will be played at 2 p.m. May 4 at Franklin Regional.

The game, which rotates sites, features some of the top players in the state.

The teams will have practices at Franklin Regional on May 3.

South Allegheny coach Pat Monroe is the coach of the West squad. Brashear coach Rick Murphy will serve as one of his assistants.

I'm excited about it,” Botta said. “It's good for Westmoreland County and good for the school. It's a good time of the year. I'm hoping we generate a lot of excitement.”

The West squad features 21 players from the WPIAL and two from the City League.

The WPIAL players selected are Franklin Regional defensive back Colin Jonov; Penn Hills defensive backs Shawn Featherstone and Mike Anthony; Gateway defensive back Delvon Randall and linebacker Zaihe Regus; McKeesport linebacker Carlos Hudson; West Mifflin running back Jimmy Wheeler; Ambridge offensive lineman Brett Balkovec and linebacker Dan Zajac; Thomas Jefferson offensive lineman Jason Inks; Central Valley offensive lineman Tyler Beatrice and defensive back Anthony Williams; Bethel Park offensive lineman Ryan Sosnak; South Fayette wide receiver Justin Watson; Chartiers-Houston wide receiver Miles Williamson; Belle Vernon tight end Jake Sweitzer; Steel Valley defensive lineman Corey Pickerton; Aliquippa defensive lineman Jaleel Fields; Upper St. Clair defensive end Robert Plummer; Beaver Falls linebacker Sage Curry; and West Allegheny defensive back Jake Johnson.

The City League players selected are Brashear offensive lineman Scott Evans and USO wide receiver Marcus Johnson.

Botta will be an assistant coach in the Big 33 game.

Claybourne added to Big 33

Sto-Rox wideout Mallory Claybourne has joined Pennsylvania's roster for the Big 33 Football Classic, and Aliquippa's Dravon Henry, Central Catholic's J.J. Cosentino and Tre Tarpley, and Mt. Lebanon's Troy Apke have left.

The all-star game is June 14 at Hersheypark Stadium. New Orleans Saints wideout Marques Colston, a 2001 Susquehanna Township graduate, was named honorary chairman.

Remaining on Pennsylvania's roster are Mt. Lebanon's Alex Bookser, Thomas Jefferson's Cole Costy, Gateway's Anthony Davis, Bethel Park's Mike Grimm, McKeesport's Jawan Hills, Upper St. Clair's Ben Huss, Gateway's Montae Nicholson, Central Catholic's Niko Thorpe, Sto-Rox's Lenny Williams, Thomas Jefferson's Chase Winovich and Aliquippa's Terry Swanson. Ligonier Valley's Alec Bloom also remains from District 6.

Appreciation Day

The Greensburg Central Catholic and Greensburg Salem baseball teams will wear camouflage uniforms when they play in the first Armed Forces Game at noon April 5 at Greensburg Central Catholic.

The teams are raising money and plan to donate proceeds of a T-shirt sale and concessions to the Wounded Warriors.

“We're hoping to make this an annual event,” Greensburg Central Catholic coach Anthony Manley said. “We're hoping for good weather and a good crowd. Many military personnel are expected to attend.”

The National Guard and the Air Force are planning to have displays for fans.

PIAA championship draw

The PIAA announced more than 20,000 fans attended last weekend's state boys and girls basketball championships at Hershey's Giant Center. The four doubleheaders between the two days included six games involving WPIAL teams. Saturday night's doubleheader featuring the Blackhawk girls and New Castle boys drew more than 6,000 fans.

Five WPIAL teams — the New Castle and Lincoln Park boys and Vincentian, Seton-La Salle and Blackhawk girls — won PIAA titles. The Seton-La Salle boys lost in the Class AA title game.

Paul Schofield and Chris Harlan are staff writers for Trib Total Media. Reach them at pschofield@tribweb.com and charlan@tribweb.com or via Twitter @Schofield_Trib and @CHarlan_Trib.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy