ShareThis Page

GCC's Crouse, Kiski Area's Kennedy honored at scholar-athlete banquet

| Tuesday, April 29, 2014, 10:30 p.m.
Steph Chambers | Tribune-Review
Greensburg Central Catholic soccer player Frannie Crouse receives a hug from Cindy Henderson after winning the 58th Driscoll Award, given to the best male and female scholar-athletes in the county, on Tuesday, April 30, 2014 at Ferrante's Lakeview Lounge in Greensburg.

There are a lot of similarities between the 2014 winners of the Excellence Award at the 58th annual Westmoreland County Scholar Athlete banquet.

Not only are both outstanding students, but they also are each considered among the area's best in their sports.

Greensburg Central Catholic senior Frannie Crouse and Kiski Area senior Brent Kennedy walked away from Ferrante's Lakeview in Hempfield with the top honors Tuesday night. The banquet is sponsored by Westmoreland County Judge John J. Driscoll.

Crouse, the four-time Tribune-Review Soccer Player of the Year, broke the state scoring record (208 goals) and helped GCC win two consecutive PIAA Class A titles. She'll play soccer at Penn State.

Kennedy was a two-time WPIAL Class AAA cross country winner and won eight medals in county cross country and track meets. After missing the 2013 cross country season with a tibia injury, he has returned to compete for the track team. He'll run track at Notre Dame.

“We're the best from Westmoreland County,” Kennedy said. “It's our job to continue it. Winning this award ranks a little higher than winning the eight gold medals at the county meets.

“There are some incredible people here, a lot of impressive academic and athletic people. It was just an honor to be considered for this.”

Crouse said she was surprised with the award.

“There are so many great people who were up for the award,” she said. “Anybody should have won.

“I couldn't have asked for a better high school career. I enjoyed every moment of it. This award makes me feel great, hopefully I'll have the same type of success at Penn State.”

The banquet honored the top student-athletes from the 18 high schools in the county. The committee of athletic directors voted on 12 finalists and then the winners.

The finalists were Belle Vernon's Jake Sweitzer, Franklin Regional's Charan Singh and Alyssa Ruffing, Crouse, Hempfield's Bridget Guy and Amanda Kedzierski, Greensburg Salem's Kenneth Clark, Kennedy, Mt. Pleasant's Luke Liprando and Jordan Toohey, Southmoreland's Paige Weaver and Valley's Cody Schrecongost. Also honored were the state champions from the past year: Franklin Regional wrestlers Devin Brown and Spencer Lee, Latrobe wrestlers Luke Pletcher and Zack Zavatsky, Burrell wrestler Steven Edwards, Penn-Trafford wrestler Cameron Coy and the Hempfield 400-meter relay team of Guy, Maddy Holmberg, Lauren George and Jasmine Jones.

The John and Michael Ferrante Award winner, given annually to a person for their contributions to high school athletics, was former Jeannette and IUP basketball coach Carl Davis.

Ken Macha, a former Pirates player and manager of the Athletics and Brewers, served as guest speaker.

Paul Schofield is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. Reach him at or via Twitter @Schofield_Trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.