| Sports

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

High school roundup: North Allegheny beats rival Hampton to win Section 3 wrestling title

Kittanning's Taylor Jack locks up Burrell's Corey Falleroni in the 160 lb weight class during the South Allegheny Wrestling Tournament on Wednesday, January 23, 2013 at South Allegheny High School. Ronald Vezzani Jr./Daily News

About The Tribune-Review
The Tribune-Review can be reached via e-mail or at 412-321-6460.
Contact Us | Video | Photo Reprints
Top high school sports

By Staff Reports

Published: Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2013, 9:58 p.m.

A year ago, the Hampton wrestling team won the Section 3-AAA title by one point over rival North Allegheny.

On Wednesday night, the Tigers got their revenge in a big way.

Connor D'Amato (113 pounds), Dom Forys (126), Blynn Shideler (132), Ben Schweiger (160) and Clay Byerly (170) all had pins as No. 5 North Allegheny (10-2) cruised to a 54-12 victory over No. 9 Hampton.

Noah Shulman had a pin at heavyweight for Hampton (10-3).

Both teams advance to the WPIAL team tournament, which is scheduled to get under way Monday.

Section team tournaments were held in all seven WPIAL sections Wednesday night. The top five teams advanced to the WPIAL tournament.

Canon-McMillan 61, McGuffey 9 — The No. 1 ranked Big Macs (10-0) cruised to the Section 4-AAA title, as Nick Konyk (160), Sam Minor (170), Cody Wiercioch (180) and Angelo Broglia (285) had pins.

Connellsville 48, Peters Township 17 — John Berardinelli (113), Ethan Kenney (138), Tommy Provance (160), Matt Butler (195) and Dylan Miller (220) had pins, as No. 3 Connellsville (17-2) won the Section 2-AAA tournament title. Philip Mary (120) had a pin for No. 10 Peters Township (8-1).

Franklin Regional 38, Kiski Area 27 — The No. 4 Panthers (11-1) got pins from Kyle Berk (113), Tyler Smith (132) and Josh Shields (160) en route to winning the Section 1-AAA title. Kyle Skelly (170), Tyler Worthing (182), Matt McCutcheon (195) and Shane Kuhn (220) had pins for No. 2 Kiski Area (14-1).

South Fayette 31, Chartiers-Houston 28 — Class AA No. 1 South Fayette (7-0) captured its first section title in with a narrow win in Section 1. Brandon Keck (138) and Mike Fetchet (182) had pins for the Lions. Garrett Vulcano (220) scored a pin and set the school record with 133 victories. Ty Wormsley (113) also had a pin for No. 5 Chartiers-Houston (5-3).

Jefferson-Morgan 43, Bentworth 22 — John Demaske (132 pounds), Jason Miller (145), Ryan Zalar (152), Bill Bowlen (170) and Dustin Conti (182) all earned pins to lead Jefferson-Morgan (9-4) to its third straight title in Section 2-AA. Jake Rothka (113) had a pin for Bentworth (5-2).

Burrell 49, Kittanning 18 — Burrell captured its 10th straight section title, led by pins from Steven Edwards (145), Bill Marra (152), Dakota DesLauriers (195), Shane Cornuet (220) and Al Beattie (285).

Allderdice 71, Obama Academy 6 — Ean DiSilvio (145 pounds), Cameron Jacobson (152), Brian Estep (170), Ranier Smith (195), Pat Ferguson (285), Isaiah Slappy (126), Ryan Campbell (132) and Aamin Withrow-Davis (138) all had pins to lead Allderdice (10-1) to victory in the City League semifinals.

Perry 36, Brashear 34 — DaRue Johnson scored an 8-7 decision over Brashear's Jordan Oliver at 132 pounds to give Perry (6-9) a victory in the City League semifinals. Sean Rock (182) and Jermaine Herring (285) had pins for the Commodores.

Boys basketball

North Hills 61, Mars 60 (OT) — Shawndale Jones, who finished with 11 points, hit a 3-pointer at the buzzer in overtime to lead North Hills (7-10) to a nonsection win. Joel Pepmeyer finished with a game-high 22 points for North Hills. Mars (13-3) was led by Mitch Buzzard's 20 points.

Lincoln Park 70, Kennedy Catholic 62 — Elijah Minnie had 17 points and 13 rebounds to lead Lincoln Park (11-4) to a nonsection win. Maverick Rowan scored a game-high 21 points for Lincoln Park.

Eden Christian 50, Winchester Thurston 33 — Carter Ehms scored 12 points in a nonsection win for Eden Christian (11-5). Winchester Thurston (2-10) was led by Sam Calhoun's 14 points.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Connellsville area benefits from tourism grant program
  2. Cueto gets best of Bucs, as Reds take series
  3. Obama hopes to replicate CCAC job training efforts across U.S.
  4. UPMC to city: Try to tax our subsidiaries
  5. Starkey: Fleury’s future at stake
  6. Connellsville police hitting the streets on foot and bikes
  7. Police: Volunteer firefighter admits to setting fires
  8. Authorities plan to withdraw charge against bullied South Fayette student
  9. Pirates notebook: Walker’s razor a right-handed swing solution
  10. Corbett signs child abuse protection bills
  11. Five years later, Crosby wants another Cup win
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.