ShareThis Page

Norwin's Heath Coles tops rival to win WPIAL Class AAA wrestling title

| Saturday, March 2, 2013, 10:33 p.m.
Franklin Regional's Michael Kemerer tries to catch Canon McMillan's Connor Schram (bottom) in a last second takedown in their 126-lb championship bout in the finals of the Class AAA Individual Wrestling Championships at Norwin High School on March 02, 2013. Schram defeated Kemerer by a 3-2 decision. Barry Reeger | Tribune-Review
Latrobe's Luke Pletcher takes down North Hills' Gage Curry in their 106-pound championship bout in the finals of the Class AAA Individual Wrestling Championships at Norwin High School on March 02, 2013. Pletcher defeated Curry by a 4-1 decision. Barry Reeger | Tribune-Review

Not much separates Norwin senior Heath Coles and Greensburg Salem senior Tyler Reinhart.

The two have met five times this season and each time the match was decided by one point.

Coles improved his record against Reinhart to 3-2 by getting an escape with four seconds left for a 4-3 victory in Saturday's 152-pound final at the WPIAL/PIAA Class AAA Southwest Regional championship at Norwin.

It was Coles' second consecutive WPIAL title and also the second time he did it by defeating the guy who beat him a week before in the Section 1 tournament.

“I thought I was going to win by two this match, but Tyler kept coming at me,” Coles said. “It's always going to be close unless someone opens up.

”It's gone back and forth. Hopefully, we'll meet in the state finals. All I just tried to do was kick away for the escape.”

Coles wasn't the only wrestler from the area to become a two-time champion. The others were Hempfield sophomore Sam Krivus (120), Connellsville senior Ethan Kenney (132) and Latrobe junior Zack Zavatsky (160).

Krivus, the 106-pound winner in 2012, turned in a dominating, 12-0 win against Central Catholic sophomore Vincenzo Joseph.

Krivus took the action to Joseph, who upset Canon-McMillan's Dalton Macri, 10-2, in the semifinals, from the start with a takedown and a three-point nearfall for a 5-0 lead. Krivus was so dominant, that he wouldn't even concede an escape to Joseph late in the match.

Kenney, a winner at 106 in 2010, outscored Franklin Regional junior Tyler Smith, 14-12, in a wild match at 132. Kenney used a five-point move in the first period and held on for the win.

Zavatsky jumped out quickly against Greensburg Salem senior Zach Voytek, winning 7-2.

Latrobe freshman Luke Pletcher continued to show why he's ranked No. 1 in the state. He defeated North Hills freshman Gage Curry, 4-1, in the 106 finals.

The Canon-McMillan trio of Connor Schram (126), Solomon Chishko (145) and Cody Wiercioch (170) became the first to become three-time champions from the same school during the same season.

Connor Schram (126 pounds) and Solomon Chishko (145) held on for 3-2 wins against Franklin Regional wrestlers to claim their third titles, while Cody Wiercioch (170) had an easier time, defeating Chartiers Valley junior Noah Wilps, 9-1, for third trifecta.

Schram won his third consecutive title, but the ending was a little scary and controversial. He defeated Michael Kemerer of Franklin Regional, the returning 106-pound champion, 3-2. Kemerer almost came up with a takedown in the final 10 seconds.

Chishko captured his title by defeating Josh Shields and did a split during the final 30 seconds to avoid a takedown.

There were four upsets during the finals. Waynesburg sophomore A.C. Headlee pulled off the first at 113 when he defeated North Allegheny junior Dom Forys, 7-5. Headlee used a reversal and takedown in the second period to grab a 4-1 lead and held on.

Connellsville's Ethan Kenney outscored Franklin Regional's Tyler Smith, 14-12, at 132 to win his second title.

Central Catholic's Zach DeLuca won the 220-pound title with a 10-5 win against Canon-McMillan's Alex Campbell, who was seeded No. 1.

But the shocker came at 195 when Hampton senior Jacob Hart knocked off returning WPIAL and PIAA champion Matt McCutcheon of Kiski Area, 3-1, in overtime.

“This was a huge confidence builder,” Hart said. “I lost to him in the summer by five or six points, so I knew I had to keep in close and wear him out. I felt pretty good in overtime.”

Other district winners were Franklin Regional's Josh Marcua (138) and Kiski Area's Shane Kuhn (285).

Paul Schofield is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.