| Sports

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

High school roundup: Franklin Regional tops Norwin to win host tournament

TribLIVE Sports Videos

Email Newsletters

Click here to sign up for one of our email newsletters.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Hopewell's Nathan Bell scores past Baldwin's Arnes Bajgora during their game Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013, at Hopewell.
Top high school sports

'American Coyotes' Series

Traveling by Jeep, boat and foot, Tribune-Review investigative reporter Carl Prine and photojournalist Justin Merriman covered nearly 2,000 miles over two months along the border with Mexico to report on coyotes — the human traffickers who bring illegal immigrants into the United States. Most are Americans working for money and/or drugs. This series reports how their operations have a major impact on life for residents and the environment along the border — and beyond.

By Staff Reports
Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013, 10:30 p.m.

Matt Fisch scored 12 of his 14 points after halftime and added 13 rebounds to lead Franklin Regional (3-1) to a 58-52 come-from-behind win over Norwin in the Rettger Memorial Tournament championship game Wednesday night.

Todd Summers added 13 points and Matt Renzi had 12 for Franklin Regional, which trailed by 12 points in the second quarter. Curtis Perz scored 15 points for Norwin (2-2), and Nick Palo added 10.

Allderdice 66, Blackhawk 51 — Three players scored in double-digits as Allderdice (4-0) earned a victory in nonsection play. Javaughn Moultrie, Timothy Jackson and James Jackson scored 19, 14 and 12 points, respectively, for the Dragons. Tyler Engle led all scorers with 23 points for Blackhawk (0-2).

Apollo-Ridge 55, Derry 39 — Tre Tipton scored 21 points, and Duane Brown added 20 to guide Apollo-Ridge (3-0) to a nonsection victory. Connor Wege had 13 points for Derry (1-2).

Belle Vernon 52, Mt. Pleasant 41 — Jason Capco scored 20 points as Belle Vernon (1-1) earned a win in nonsection action. Mitch Matlas led Mt. Pleasant (1-3) with 17 points.

Carmichaels 49, Beth-Center 40 — Brandon Lawless scored 31 points as Class A No. 7 Carmichaels (3-0) earned a nonsection victory. Adam Walters led Beth-Center (0-2) with 11 points.

Elizabeth Forward 70, Frazier 50 George Prota had another strong performance, scoring a game-high 21 points as Class AAA No. 1 Elizabeth Forward (5-0) won in nonsection action. Charlie Manack recorded a double-double with 16 points and 10 rebounds for Frazier (1-2).

Hopewell 60, Baldwin 59 — Jake Miller hit the game-winning 3-pointer with just under 10 seconds left to help Hopewell (2-1) won in nonsection action. Miller finished with 14 points and Nathan Bell scored a game-high 25 for the Vikings. Arnes Bajgora led the Highlanders (0-4) with 21 points.

Kittanning 36, Ford City 30 — Noah Hurst scored 13 points as Kittanning (2-2) won a nonsection contest.

Monessen 82, Westinghouse 55 — Clintell Gillaspie scored 33 points as Class A No. 5 Monessen (1-3) won in the Rettger Tournament consolation game. Javon Brown recorded 12 points for the Greyhounds. James White III led Westinghouse (0-3) with 19 points.

South Allegheny 46, East Allegheny33 — Ty Cook and Jeiron Lewis each scored 15 points as South Allegheny (2-2) won a nonsection contest.

Thomas Jefferson 81, Keystone Oaks 39 — Jason Horan led all scorers with 18 points as Class AAA No. 6 Thomas Jefferson (3-1) earned a nonsection victory. Taylor Lehman led Keystone Oaks (0-3) with 14 points.

Girls basketball

Belle Vernon 59, McGuffey 52 — Kaitlyn Slagus recorded 19 points and 20 rebounds as Belle Vernon (2-1) earned a nonsection victory. Meaghan Murphy scored 17 points for the Leopards.

Pine-Richland 52, Mars 29 Pine-Richland used a 17-2 advantage in the first quarter to seal a nonsection win. Marisa Hombosky had 13 points for Pine-Richland (4-0).

Shaler 46, Penn Hills 27 — Paige Quinn recorded 14 points as Class AAAA No. 7 Shaler (3-0) remained undefeated with a nonsection win. Abbey Conrad scored 11 points for the Titans.

Thomas Jefferson 63, Clairton 24 — Alexis Yanief led all scorers with 19 points as Thomas Jefferson (2-2) won in nonsection action. Deshawna Stewart scored 11 points for Clairton (0-3).


Connellsville 67, Albert Gallatin 8 — Colton DeWitt (138 pounds), Chase Cramer (145), Tommy Provance (182) and Gunnar Lynch (220) earned pins to lead Connellsville (1-1, 1-0) to a Class AAA, Section 2A win.

Fox Chapel 49, Central Catholic 22 Andrew Kopco (113 pounds), Darrius Booker (138) and Richard Giovenetti (195) all had pins to carry Fox Chapel (5-0, 1-0) to a Class AAA, Section 3B victory.

Southmoreland 54, Mt. Pleasant 30 – Cole Lambie (106 pounds), Evan Myers (132), Brenden Hernley (152) and Brennan Coles (182) all had pins to lead Southmoreland (1-0, 1-0) to a Class AA, Section 2B victory. Mike Novak (126), Austin Mears (145) and Sage Zider had pins for Mt. Pleasant (1-5, 0-1).

Tursky to be honored

Kiski Area wrestling coach Chuck Tursky will receive the Pennsylvania Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame's “Lifetime Service to Wrestling” award in April. The WPIAL's all-time leader in coaching wins with more than 450, Tursky also will be a distinguished inductee in this year's class. Tursky has coached wrestling at Kiski Area since 1986.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. McCullers’, McLendon’s prowess in clogging trenches crucial to Steelers defense
  2. Rossi: Looking at the next great Steeler
  3. Steelers swap draft pick for Eagles cornerback
  4. Shell shovels millions into proposed Beaver County plant site
  5. Penguins not alone in top-heavy approach to salary cap
  6. After early criticism, Haley has Steelers offense poised to be even better
  7. Reds solve Cole, stave off Pirates’ 9th-inning rally
  8. Starting 9: Examining Pirates’ deadline decisions
  9. Inside the Steelers: QB Jones continues to get majority of snaps
  10. Pirates notebook: New acquisition Happ more than happy to fill spot in rotation
  11. Biertempfel: Players, MLB agree logic of season’s setup needs to be examined