| Sports

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Bettis not among 7 Hall inductees

Steelers/NFL Videos

By The Associated Press
Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013, 6:17 p.m.

NEW ORLEANS - Coach Bill Parcells, Warren Sapp, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The class of 2013 also includes a pair of senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson. The announcement was made Saturday in New Orleans, a day before the Super Bowl.

Five players were eliminated in the final vote: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read NFL

  1. Not to be left behind, speedy Steelers are on the fast track in NFL
  2. NFL notebook: Manning fined for taunting Texans safety
  3. Cardinals’ Fitzgerald feels best days aren’t behind him
  4. NFL notebook: QB Newton says ‘no doubt’ he’ll be ready for opener
  5. NFL upholds Browns WR Gordon’s 1-year ban
  6. NFL notebook: Browns rookie QB Manziel fined for gesture
  7. NFL notebook: Browns considering 2 QB system with Hoyer, Manziel
  8. NFL notebook: Torn ACL sidelines Rams QB Bradford for season
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.