| Sports

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Bettis not among 7 Hall inductees

Steelers/NFL Videos

By The Associated Press
Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013, 6:17 p.m.

NEW ORLEANS - Coach Bill Parcells, Warren Sapp, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The class of 2013 also includes a pair of senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson. The announcement was made Saturday in New Orleans, a day before the Super Bowl.

Five players were eliminated in the final vote: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read NFL

  1. HOF finalist Bettis ‘behind everything’ in 2005 Super Bowl run
  2. Dungy, Greene represent more Steelers ties in hall of fame voting
  3. Now a Patriot, RB Blount’s thrilled to have moved on from Steelers
  4. Patriots veterans embrace return to Super Bowl
  5. Ex-Aliquippa, Pitt star Revis finally realizes Super Bowl dream
  6. Normally tight-lippped Marshawn Lynch fires back at critics
  7. NFL notebook: Seahawks warned 15-yard penalty for Lynch obscene gesture
  8. Rossi: In Super city, everything but football matters
  9. 49ers hire Steel Valley graduate Tomsula as head coach
  10. Getting fired by Patriots led to Carroll’s reinvention
  11. Seahawks’ Sherman credits upbringing for building his character