ShareThis Page

Penguins penalty kill fails again in loss to Canucks

Jonathan Bombulie
| Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017, 9:48 p.m.

Sometimes you've got to laugh to keep from crying.

Perhaps that's what goalie Matt Murray was thinking after the Penguins dropped a 5-2 decision Wednesday night at PPG Paints Arena.

The Vancouver Canucks scored some funny goals, Murray said, especially one that was preceded by Phil Kessel turning a puck over because he skated backwards into a broken stick that was lying on the ice.

“Pretty much all the goals they got were kind of hilarious if you think about it,” Murray said. “That one with the broken stick and off of Phil, that's about as unlucky as you can get. For sure, we need to have a better start and maybe it doesn't get to that point, but you've got to look at some of those goals and just laugh.”

Regardless of the comedic value of the goals they allowed, the Penguins aren't in a good place right now.

They've lost four of their last six and are stuck in a mass of teams in the middle of the Eastern Conference playoff picture. They've got a tough back-to-back ahead this weekend, visiting Boston on Friday before hosting Tampa Bay on Saturday.

“The answers are in that dressing room,” coach Mike Sullivan said. “These guys are good players. We've just got to become a more determined hockey team, to be harder to play against five-on-five, and to make sure that when we do get the opportunities around the net, we've got to bear down.”

Most pressingly, the Penguins continue to have problems on the penalty kill. They've given up two power-play goals in five of their last six games.

Sullivan was critical of his penalty killers after a 2-1 loss to Chicago last Saturday. He was more charitable this time around, agreeing that the goals were somewhat fluky in nature.

“I don't think our penalty kill got any sort of puck luck tonight,” Sullivan said. “That didn't help them.”

Still, giving up two power-play goals is no way to win a hockey game, and the pair Vancouver got Wednesday provided a particularly painful kick to the gut.

The first came about seven minutes into the second period when Derrick Pouliot's shot from the left point that seemed destined to sail 5 feet wide of the net instead hit Brian Dumoulin's leg and bounced into the cage.

Pouliot was a former first-round draft pick who never panned out with the Penguins before being shipped unceremoniously to Vancouver in September. The goal came with two seconds left in the penalty.

“Regardless of how it went in, it's still a power-play goal and it still gave them momentum,” Dumoulin said. “That's something we've still got to work on.”

Less than three minutes later, rookie star Brock Boeser added another power-play goal on a rocket from the left faceoff circle that looked to take a deflection off defenseman Ian Cole.

It took a tight, one-goal edge and turned it into a comfortable 4-1 lead for the Canucks.

Vancouver took a 2-1 lead in the first when Boeser counter-attacked off a Riley Sheahan shot over the crossbar on a rebound bid from the slot and Loui Eriksson cashed in the rebound of a Thomas Vanek shot after Kessel's mishap with the broken stick.

“We gave them a couple of freebies there,” Dumoulin said. “Obviously, it's tough to win like that. It's always tough to come back. I think we gotta start trying to get that first goal instead of having to come back in a lot of these games.”

The Penguins played without Evgeni Malkin because of an upper-body injury, with Jake Guentzel taking his place as second-line center and on the first power-play unit.

Guentzel thrived in his new special teams role, scoring twice.

In the first period, he took a pass from Kessel as he entered the offensive zone with speed and converted a rebound of his own breakaway attempt. In the third, a Kessel centering pass banked in off Guentzel's skate.

Sullivan was less impressed with Guentzel's even-strength work, especially in comparison to Crosby's line, which had a significant possession advantage despite failing to score.

“We were hoping we would get a little more consistent threats from Jake's line,” Sullivan said. “That's not a criticism of Jake in particular. Overall, playing the center-ice position, I thought he was fine.”

Jonathan Bombulie is a Tribune-Review staff writer. Reach him at jbombulie@tribweb.com or via Twitter at @BombulieTrib.

The Penguins' Carl Hagelin dives for the puck in front of the Canucks' Alex Biega in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Carl Hagelin dives for the puck in front of the Canucks' Alex Biega in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Penguins' Jake Guentzel beats Canucks goaltender Andres Nilsson in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Jake Guentzel beats Canucks goaltender Andres Nilsson in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Penguins' Sindey Crosby fights for the puck with the Canucks' Alex Biega in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Sindey Crosby fights for the puck with the Canucks' Alex Biega in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Penguins' Jake Guentzel celebrates his goal against the Canucks in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Jake Guentzel celebrates his goal against the Canucks in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Canucks' Michael Del Zotto keeps the Penguins' Patric Hornqvist from a rebound in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Canucks' Michael Del Zotto keeps the Penguins' Patric Hornqvist from a rebound in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Canucks goaltender Anders Nilsson stops the Penguins' Patric Hornqvist from going five hole in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Canucks goaltender Anders Nilsson stops the Penguins' Patric Hornqvist from going five hole in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Canucks' celebrate Derrick Pouliot's goal against the Penguins in the second period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Canucks' celebrate Derrick Pouliot's goal against the Penguins in the second period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Canucks celebrate Brock Boeser goal against the Penguins in the second period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Canucks celebrate Brock Boeser goal against the Penguins in the second period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Canucks celebrate Derrick Pouliot's goal against the Penguins in the second period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Canucks celebrate Derrick Pouliot's goal against the Penguins in the second period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Penguins' Patric Hornqvist misses a check on the Canucks' Ben Hutton and take the brunt of it in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Patric Hornqvist misses a check on the Canucks' Ben Hutton and take the brunt of it in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Canucks goaltender Andres Nilsson makes a toe save against the Penguins in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Canucks goaltender Andres Nilsson makes a toe save against the Penguins in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Penguins' Phil Kessel takes a shot against the Canucks in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Phil Kessel takes a shot against the Canucks in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Penguins' Sidney Crosby gets drug down by the Canucks' Ben Hutton in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Sidney Crosby gets drug down by the Canucks' Ben Hutton in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Penguins' Jake Guentzel's shot finds the back of the net behind Canucks goaltender Anders Nilsson in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Jake Guentzel's shot finds the back of the net behind Canucks goaltender Anders Nilsson in the third period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
The Canucks' Loui Erksson beats Penguins goaltender Matt Murray in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Canucks' Loui Erksson beats Penguins goaltender Matt Murray in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Penguins goaltender Matt Murray makes a save on the Canucks' Brandon Sutter in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Penguins goaltender Matt Murray makes a save on the Canucks' Brandon Sutter in the first period Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017 at PPG Paints Arena.
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.