Share This Page

Penguins blow late lead, fall to Senators in 2OT

| Sunday, May 19, 2013, 11:48 p.m.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Senators' Colin Greening celebrates his game-winning goal in the second overtime to beat the Penguins, 2-1, on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Senators goaltender Craig Anderson makes a save on the Penguins' Matt Cooke on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Senators' Andre Benoit celebrates after Ottawa beat the Penguins in the second overtime, Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Senators' Sergei Gonchar checks the Penguins' James Neal during the first period Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Brandon Sutter celebrates Tyler Kennedy's second-period goal against the Senators on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Brandon Sutter and Matt Cooke celebrates Tyler Kennedy's second-period goal against the Senators on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Matt Cooke nudges the Senators' Marc Methot after Tyler Kennedy's second-period goal Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Penguins goaltender Tomas Vokoun makes a second-period save on the Senators' Kyle Turris on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Tyler Kennedy celebrates with the bench after his second-period goal against the Senators on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Kris Letang defends the Senators' Jason Spezza during the second period Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Senators goaltender Craig Anderson stops the Penguins' Evgeni Malkin during the first overtime Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Craig Adams checks the Senators' Jason Spezza during the first overtime Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Kris Letang breaks up ice with the puck during the first period against the Senators on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place at Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Jarome Iginla has words with the Senators' Chris Phillips during the first period, Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place at Ottawa.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
The Penguins' Jarome Iginla plays against the Senators on Sunday, May 19, 2013, at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.

OTTAWA — Daniel Alfredsson changed the conversation Sunday night.

His Ottawa Senators will not be swept from the second round of the Stanley Cup playoffs, and the favored Penguins will not roll unimpeded into the Eastern Conference final.

Alfredsson's final-minute goal extended Game 3, which was won, 2-1, for the Senators on center Colin Greening's score seven minutes and 39 seconds into a second overtime.

Game 4 of this best-of-seven series is Wednesday night at Scotiabank Place, and the Senators can pull even with a victory.

“We have to change the page and get ready for the next one,” Penguins captain Sidney Crosby said.

He was one of the few Penguins not showing signs of disbelief in the postgame dressing room.

Crosby was not on the ice for Alfredsson's tying goal, which was scored with 29 seconds remaining in the third period.

The Senators trailed, 1-0, and had pulled goalie Craig Anderson to nullify the Penguins' man-advantage. Top Senators defenseman Erik Karlsson had committed a slashing penalty with a 1:27 left.

A drop-pass in the neutral zone from Alfredsson found defenseman Sergei Gonchar, who skated into the offensive zone and dished to right winger Milan Michalek.

Alfredsson broke free into the slot — Penguins center Evgeni Malkin and defenseman Kris Letang each lost sight of him — and was unmarked to receive a chip-pass from Michalek.

Alfredsson bested Penguins goalie Tomas Vokoun, completing an awkward-appearing, end-of-game sequence.

“We had one more guy on the ice,” left winger Matt Cooke said. “It shouldn't have been that awkward.”

Letang was on the ice with defenseman Paul Martin, Malkin and fellow center Brandon Sutter, and left winger Chris Kunitz.

“It's not awkward,” Letang said. “It's just a question of making the right play.”

Actually, now it's a question of regrouping.

Malkin, who was not available for comment, tried that single-handedly in the overtimes.

By far the Penguins' best offensive player throughout Game 3, he was often dazzling in the extra periods — winning one-on-one battles at the blue line, below the goal line and along the boards. He attempted 15 shots in the game.

However, neither Malkin nor any Penguin could get the better of Anderson, who in Game 2 on Friday night had been pulled from a game for the first time since the NHL lockout ended.

Anderson finished with 49 saves, looking every bit like the elite goalie he has proven to be during the past two regular seasons.

His early glove save on Crosby in the first period set a tone, and his heads-up freeze of a Malkin shot with the Penguins on a two-man advantage in the second visibly frustrated members of the power play.

The Penguins went 0 for 6 with the man-advantage, which had clicked at 32.3 percent over eight previous playoff games.

Clicking at 16.7 percent in Game 3 would have given the Penguins a vise-like grip on another series they are heavily favored to win.

The Senators will stick to a successful formula of overcoming obstacles.

Top center Jason Spezza returned for Game 3 after having not played since undergoing back surgery in February. He played almost 19 minutes.

Karlsson, a few months removed from surgery to repair a partially severed Achilles tendon, was 12 seconds short of playing 40 minutes in Game 3.

Anderson, who also missed time during the regular season, suffocated shots, and left Malkin — tied for the playoff points lead before Sunday — shaking his head in disbelief on several occasions.

Alfredsson is the Senators captain, the iconic figure of a franchise that returned NHL hockey to Canada's capital city. He is 40, set to become an unrestricted free agent, and perhaps playing his final games in a Hall of Fame career.

Had he not scored late in Game 3, conversation around here would have been about his future.

His goal changed that conversation, too.

Rob Rossi is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. Reach him at rrossi@tribweb.com or via Twitter @RobRossi_Trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.