Share This Page

Pirates' Cole proves to be as good as advertised

| Tuesday, June 11, 2013, 10:33 p.m.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole throws a 96 mph fastball, the first pitch of his MLB career, against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole smiles at fans in the stands after driving in two runs during the second inning against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole steps onto the field at the start of his MLB debut on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park on the North Shore.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole motions to his infielders after getting out of a jam against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole gets a standing ovation from the crowd as he leaves the game during his major league debut against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole delivers during the second inning against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole drives in two runs with a single during the second inning against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole throws during the second inning against the Giants on Tuesday at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole talks with pitching coach Ray Searage as they walk to the bullpen before his MLB debut against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole delivers during the first inning against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole drives in two runs with a single during the second inning against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole delivers to the plate during the first inning against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole drives in two runs with a single during the second inning against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013 at PNC Park.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Fans watch from above, as Pirates pitcher Gerrit Cole warms up in the bullpen before the start of his major league debut against the Giants on Tuesday, June 11, 2013, at PNC Park.

Gerrit Cole had the most difficulty in keeping his composure Tuesday as he walked off the mound. He left his first big league start to a standing ovation at PNC Park, following 6 13 efficient innings to lead the Pirates to an 8-2 win over the defending World Series champion Giants.

“I was trying not to look up because I felt like I was going to smile,” Cole said. “And that would not have looked hard or cool.”

There was plenty for Cole and 30,614 Pirates fans to smile about Tuesday.

Cole used ruthless efficiency and a blazing fastball to dominate the Giants, hardly appearing like a nervous rookie pitcher. After working around a pair of hits in the first and second innings, he needed only 38 pitches to breeze through the next four innings, setting down 13 consecutive Giants.

Cole allowed two runs on seven hits and did not walk a batter. He struck out two en route to his first major league win. He also had his first hit since high school: a two-run single off Tim Lincecum in the second inning.

“When you have a lead, it allows you to be aggressive,” Cole said. “If there's no one on base, I'm going to just challenge guys.”

Cole's debut was different but nearly as dominant and hope inspiring as that of Stephen Strasburg, another former No. 1 overall pick. Strasburg allowed two runs in seven innings against the Pirates on June 8, 2010.

Cole's stuff is often compared to Strasburg's.

Cole's fastball touched 99 mph twice, and it registered 96 mph or better 36 times. He often challenged and overwhelmed Giants' bats in the strike zone. Gregor Blanco began the game by swinging and missing at a 99 mph fastball for a strikeout.

Scouts agreed Cole's second-best pitch is a swing-and-miss slider. He struck out NL MVP Buster Posey swinging on an 82 mph slider in the sixth.

Despite the dominant stuff, Cole has not posted Strasburg-like strikeout numbers, owning a pedestrian rate of 6.2 strikeouts-per-nine innings at Triple-A.

Why?

Cole says he prefers efficiency to strikeout totals.

Typically, offspeed pitches generate the most strikeouts, but of Cole's 81 pitches, 65, or 80.2 percent, were fastballs Tuesday, an unusually high ratio.

“Just pound the zone,” Cole remembered thinking as he walked from the bullpen prior to his start. “I can't say enough about always putting hitters on their heels 0-1.”

Cole's reliance on his fastball is a product of the Pirates preaching fastball command. Cole's command improved in his recent minor league starts. Of his 81 pitches Tuesday, 59 were strikes.

“He threw first-pitch strikes exceptionally well,” Pirates manager Clint Hurdle said. “The tempo was good. His focus. He was down in the zone, which he maintained all the way until the end.”

Cole also has worked on creating a better plane with his fastball. An NL scout said Cole gets in trouble when his fastball flattens out in the upper part of the zone. Cole kept the ball down for the most part Tuesday, generating 10 groundouts versus six fly outs.

Cole did not allow a run until the seventh when Tony Abreu ripped a fastball to right for an RBI double, ending Cole's night. He left to a standing ovation.

Cole's last pitch traveled at 98 mph. On Wednesday in his Triple-A start at Indianapolis, he threw his 88th pitch at 99 mph. Stamina is perhaps Cole's most distinguishing feature, similar to another arm drafted by Pirates assistant GM Greg Smith: Tigers ace Justin Verlander.

But it was perhaps Cole's first pitches — 96 mph, 96 mph and 99 mph strikes — that were most impressive.

“I wasn't nervous before the game or anything, and that was weird,” Cole said. “I was kind of nervous about that not being nervous.”

Tuesday was a big moment. It was a major league debut, but it wasn't too big for Cole.

Travis Sawchik is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. Reach him at tsawchik@tribweb.com or via Twitter @Sawchik_Trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.