Olympian Phelps sinks 153-foot putt
TribLIVE Sports Videos
ST. ANDREWS, Scotland — Michael Phelps can putt a little, too.
The Olympic swimming great upstaged some of golf's finest players Friday by sinking an astonishing 153-foot putt during the second round of team play at the Dunhill Links Championship.
The putt came after Phelps drove the front edge of the green on the par-4 sixth hole at Kingsbarn. He then stepped up with his putter for his second shot, stroked the ball and watched as it rolled and rolled downhill and into the cup.
It took about 17 seconds for the ball to land in the hole, or slightly quicker than it takes Phelps to swim 50 yards.
Phelps, playing the team event with a 16 handicap, received a stroke on the hole and signed for an aggregate ‘1' on his scorecard.
“That was the longest putt I've ever holed,” said the winner of 18 Olympic gold medals. “It was pretty incredible, watching it dive in was a pretty cool feeling.
“Even without that, this trip would have been very special, just having the opportunity to come over here and play among some of these players has been absolutely incredible.”
Show commenting policy
TribLive commenting policy
- Steelers’ lookahead: New Orleans Saints
- Steelers cornerback Taylor ready to swap earpiece for helmet
- Ehrhoff finding his way with Penguins
- Senior running back Bennett quietly filled role during Pitt career
- FDA rule to require chain restaurants to post calorie counts
- Lower gas prices entice motorists to drive long distances for Thanksgiving
- Ferguson protesters march on Pittsburgh streets
- U.S. Steel Tower tenants stand to benefit from company’s relocation
- United Mine Workers responds to strike complaint
- Retailers that won’t open on Thanksgiving hope move pays off in long run
- Westmoreland County, state AG to get funds from illegal lottery