Olympian Phelps sinks 153-foot putt
TribLIVE Sports Videos
ST. ANDREWS, Scotland — Michael Phelps can putt a little, too.
The Olympic swimming great upstaged some of golf's finest players Friday by sinking an astonishing 153-foot putt during the second round of team play at the Dunhill Links Championship.
The putt came after Phelps drove the front edge of the green on the par-4 sixth hole at Kingsbarn. He then stepped up with his putter for his second shot, stroked the ball and watched as it rolled and rolled downhill and into the cup.
It took about 17 seconds for the ball to land in the hole, or slightly quicker than it takes Phelps to swim 50 yards.
Phelps, playing the team event with a 16 handicap, received a stroke on the hole and signed for an aggregate ‘1' on his scorecard.
“That was the longest putt I've ever holed,” said the winner of 18 Olympic gold medals. “It was pretty incredible, watching it dive in was a pretty cool feeling.
“Even without that, this trip would have been very special, just having the opportunity to come over here and play among some of these players has been absolutely incredible.”
Show commenting policy
TribLive commenting policy
- Armstrong escapee caught; murder charges pending
- Man attempts to take firearm onto plane in Pittsburgh; tenth attempt this year
- Penn Hills grandmother to stand trial for fatally stabbing man with kitchen knife
- Heyl: Longtime disc jockey Jimmy Roach to turn dismissal into brighter times
- Pirates bolster bullpen by trading for former closer Soria
- McKeesport tattoo artist will stand trial for allegedly beating man to death
- Judge rules McCullough guilty of taking money from elderly woman’s estate
- SWAT standoff on Pittsburgh’s North Side ends peacefully
- Steelers’ reserve quarterbacks vie to secure spot behind Roethlisberger, Gradkowski
- Steelers stress improved conditioning in attempt to play past injuries
- ATI to benefit from WTO ruling against China in steel case