Dogs three months and older must be licensed by Jan. 1
The 2018 state dog licenses are now available through local county treasurers' offices and other locations, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture.
All dogs three months or older must be licensed by Jan. 1 of each year. Violators can be cited with a maximum fine of $300 per violation plus court costs, according to Department of Agriculture.
An annual license is $8.50 and a lifetime license is $51.50.
The license costs less if the animal is spayed or neutered with an annual fee of $6.50 and a lifetime fee set at $31.50.
Discounts are available to older adults and people with disabilities.
The license fee helps funds the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement.
To find out where dog licenses are available in your county, visit: http://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Protect/DogLaw/PA%20Dog%20Licensing/Pages/County-Treasurers.aspx#.VmcyPL_wwdZ
For general information on dog licenses, visit: http://www.licenseyourdogpa.pa.gov/