ShareThis Page

Southmoreland passes 2011-12 budget with no tax increase

| Friday, June 24, 2011

Southmoreland School Board adopted a 2011-12 budget with no tax increase planned for residents in Westmoreland and Fayette counties. Director Catherine Fike voted against the budget plan.

The budget proposed anticipates expenditures of $26,282,695 and revenues of $24,208,164. Directors opted to use $2,074,531 of the district's fund balance to balance the budget. This would set millage at 69.4 mills for Westmoreland County and 14.0 mills for Fayette County.

Business Manager Bill Porter said it has been seven years since the district voted for a tax increase and out of all 17 districts in Westmoreland County, Southmoreland is operating on the third lowest millage rate, with just Norwin and Monessen behind them.

He added that Franklin Regional is at the top of the list with a millage rate in the high 80s.

In other business, the board named Susan Dye, Porter's current secretary, as the interim board treasurer for the 2011-12 school year or until a business manager has been appointed.

Porter is scheduled to retire on June 30.

The board last night agreed to contract with Porter to help close out the financials for this fiscal year at a per diem rate of $480.03 a day until Sept. 30.

Along with that the board agreed to hire Cherlyn Stankiewicz as a contract employee at a rate of $20.25 an hour on a part-time basis to help train business office personnel and help Porter close out the fiscal year.

Directors also approved Walter Mizwa of Monongahela as the working physical plant operator, which is also the district maintenance supervisor, for a four-year term at 90 percent of the base salary of $57,962, which would be $52,165.

The second year of the contract he would receive 92 percent of the base salary, the third year he will receive 94 percent of the base salary and the fourth year he will receive 96 percent of the base salary.

Mizwa is taking over the maintenance supervisor position that was left open when Ken Millslagle resigned.

Director Mike Bentz voted against the motion and directors Josie Kauffman and Gail Rhodes abstained from voting.

Dr. Timothy Saloom was reappointed as school physician at a salary of $25,000 plus $2.50 per student and dentists Dave Cobb, Robert Clark and Dr. Siwula-Gill were named to conduct dental exams for students in grades three and seven at a cost of $1 per exam.

While directors Fike and Tony Lizza voted against the motion, David G. Petonic will remain solicitor for the district for another year.

His retainer for the monthly regular business meeting, monthly planning meeting and one special meeting or board hearing per month, whether held or not will be $1,050 a month, which is the same rate as last year.

Petonic will also bill the district $99 per hour for additional services and $120 an hour for court time or administrative hearings, mediation or arbitration hearing time effective July 1 and excess costs such as long distance phone calls, extraordinary postage and travel costs and excessive photocopying will be billed at cost.

Under personnel, the board granted tenure status to Brenton DeFlitch, Michael May and Ashley Morris; accepted the resignation of Christina Haines; approved Keith Miller as the seventh-grade team leader; approved Jackie Polakovsy as the eighth-grade team leader and approved Janey Layman as the specials team leader.

Anna Marie Macioce was also approved as the guard instructor for the Southmoreland Band during the 2011-12 school year.

The Summer Lunch Program operated by Southmoreland School District at Centennial Park in Everson begins on Monday. Lunch will be served from 12:15 to 1:15 Monday through Friday until Aug. 12. Lunch will be offered the week of July 4, but will be closed the day of July 4. The lunches are free for individuals 18 years and younger, and adult lunches are $3 per individual.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.