| News

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Committee selects Westmoreland scholar-athlete nominees

TribLIVE Sports Videos

Email Newsletters

Click here to sign up for one of our email newsletters.

Daily Photo Galleries

'American Coyotes' Series

Traveling by Jeep, boat and foot, Tribune-Review investigative reporter Carl Prine and photojournalist Justin Merriman covered nearly 2,000 miles over two months along the border with Mexico to report on coyotes — the human traffickers who bring illegal immigrants into the United States. Most are Americans working for money and/or drugs. This series reports how their operations have a major impact on life for residents and the environment along the border — and beyond.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Westmoreland County Juvenile Court Judge John Driscoll is amazed by the achievements of the student-athletes nominated for the annual Excellence Award given to the top female and male from 18 county high schools.

Driscoll's committee, made up of the 18 athletic directors from the county, reviewed the 36 students — two from each school — nominated for this year's awards Tuesday and selected 11 finalists and the two winners, who will be announced at a banquet April 26 at Ferrante's Lakeview Lounge near Greensburg.

Last year's winners were Luke Graham (Penn-Trafford) and Samantha Pickens (Franklin Regional).

"I can't believe how these students find time to study and participate in athletics," Driscoll said. "Again, we had an outstanding group to pick from."

State championship wrestlers Travis McKillop of Burrell and Travis Shaffer of Derry are among the nominees, along with many athletes who will continue their athletic and academic careers at some of the top universities in the country.

Also honored at the banquet will be state champion wrestlers Nico Megaludis (Franklin Regional); Jim Gulibon (Derry Area); and track and field athletes Amber Valimont and Rachel Serafin of Hempfield Area.

This year's Michael and John Ferrante Memorial Award recipient for his contributions to promoting high school athletics is former Latrobe boys basketball coach Ray Zsolcsak. The guest speaker will be Brother Norman W. Hipps, who serves as St. Vincent College president.

Scholar athletes

Belle Vernon: Mary Elisabeth Spang and Nicholas Gruber

Burrell: David Yakopec and Travis McKillop

Derry: Caroline Niezelski and Travis Shaffer

Franklin Regional: Leah Schott and Dominic Venditti

Latrobe: Emily Friedline and Zach LaDuke

Greensburg C.C.: Faith Finoli and Anthony D'Onofrio

Greensburg Salem: Hannah Cawoski and Raevaan Mottley

Hempfield: Brooke Waugaman and Steven Schmitt

Jeannette: Chelsea Sommer and Matt Shrum

Kiski Area: Felicia Reid and Ryan Kennedy

Ligonier Valley: Christine Henderson and Clayton Nanassy

Monessen: Joseph Gigliotti and Jesse Tatsch

Mt. Pleasant: Nicole Malara and Luke Czerniak

Norwin: Jenna Gigliotti and Zachary Ligus

Penn-Trafford: Cassandra Barker and Michael Theys

Southmoreland: Erika Wisniewski and Ryan Byers

Valley: Allison Rayburn and Christopher Capo

Yough: Nicolle Sleith and Jeffrey Mitchell

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.




Show commenting policy

Most-Read News