Burger King’s Impossible Whopper may not be vegan friendly
The patties for Burger King’s Impossible Whopper are 100% plant-based, but might not be 100% friendly for vegans or vegetarians.
According to a footnote on the product page for the burger on BK’s website, the Impossible Whoppers are “flame-grilled in the same broiler used for beef and chicken.” Most people following a vegan or vegetarian diet try to avoid animal products in all cooking and preparation of dishes.
Fox News said that Burger King confirmed that the patties will be cooked on the same broilers.
Reps for the company said that customers can ask for the patties to be prepared in the oven. But the product still cannot be labeled vegan as Burger King restaurants “have an open kitchen environment,” according to Fox News.
“We use the same cooking method,” Chris Finazzo, Burger King’s president in the Americas region, told Bloomberg. “This product tastes exactly like a Whopper. We wouldn’t want to lend our name to just anything. It looks like beef, smells like beef, has the same texture as beef.”
Bloomberg reported that the company said 90% of the people who ordered the Impossible Whopper during the trial run were meat eaters, so they may not mind if the plant-based patties are cooked alongside beef ones.
Burger King, which teamed up with Impossible Foods for the patties, will begin selling the plant-based Whopper nationwide Thursday after a successful run in six test regions.