ShareThis Page
Out & About

Out & About: 'Toast to the Trees' gala previews annual festival

Shirley McMarlin
| Monday, Dec. 3, 2018, 1:33 a.m.
Gala co-chairs (from left) Glenda Dickson, Rick Schwab and Karen O’Connor, all of Ligonier, gather for a photo Friday at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
Gala co-chairs (from left) Glenda Dickson, Rick Schwab and Karen O’Connor, all of Ligonier, gather for a photo Friday at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
“Here Comes Susie Snowflake,” created by Linda Brown of Ligonier, is one of the trees on display at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held Friday at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
“Here Comes Susie Snowflake,” created by Linda Brown of Ligonier, is one of the trees on display at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held Friday at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
Joyce (left) and Bill Miller of Ligonier pose for a photo Friday near some of the trees at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
Joyce (left) and Bill Miller of Ligonier pose for a photo Friday near some of the trees at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
From left: Kim Buckley of Fox Chapel, Donna Tidwell of Ligonier and Ron McDowell of Ligonier and owner of the Road Toad, who sponsored the signature cocktails of the evening, gather for a photo during the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held Friday at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
From left: Kim Buckley of Fox Chapel, Donna Tidwell of Ligonier and Ron McDowell of Ligonier and owner of the Road Toad, who sponsored the signature cocktails of the evening, gather for a photo during the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held Friday at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
George Conte, LVHS board member, Phyllis Bertok, LVHS board member, Theresa Gay Rohall, executive director of the LVHS, and Jack Fry, LVHS board member, gather for a photo Friday at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
George Conte, LVHS board member, Phyllis Bertok, LVHS board member, Theresa Gay Rohall, executive director of the LVHS, and Jack Fry, LVHS board member, gather for a photo Friday at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
Sally Nuckles of Greensburg admires trees at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held Friday at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.
Sally Nuckles of Greensburg admires trees at the “Toast to the Trees” preview gala for the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s 36th annual Festival of Lights, held Friday at the Ligonier Town Hall on Friday evening, November 30, 2018.

A preview gala typically precedes the Ligonier Valley Historical Society’s Festival of Lights.

This year was no different, with the Nov. 30 Toast to the Trees opening the glittering, gleaming show and sale of decorated trees, wreaths, swags and mantelpieces, running through Dec. 4 in the Ligonier Town Hall community room.

(Hours for the final day are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission is $5, or $1 for ages 5 to 12.)

Gala guests had first crack at bidding on the festive pieces created by historical society supporters, including children and adults, amateurs and professionals. There also was a silent auction of items including pampering services for both humans and pets, event tickets, gourmet experiences and restaurant discounts.

Co-chairs of this year’s event committee were Glenda Dickson, Karen O’Connor and Rick Schwab.

Shirley McMarlin is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Shirley at 724-836-5750, smcmarlin@tribweb.com or via Twitter @shirley_trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me