Aspinwall council race uncontested but votes will decide length of terms |
Fox Chapel

Aspinwall council race uncontested but votes will decide length of terms

Tawnya Panizzi

There won’t be a contested race for Aspinwall council in the May 21 primary election, but four candidates still are jockeying for position.

Four residents are seeking four open seats, but the vote totals will decide whether they get a four-year term or a two-year term, Manager Melissa Lang said.

There are three four-year terms open and one two-year term.

“The two-year seat will be the remainder of the term from when Ann Marsico resigned,” she said.

“Because they will all win their party seats, someone will choose the two-year seat or the person with the lowest vote will get the two-year position.”

Candidates seeking their party’s nomination are:

• Democratic incumbent Jeff Harris, of Second Street.

• Democratic newcomer Heth Turnquist, of Eastern Avenue.

• Republican incumbent Tim McLaughlin, of Lexington Avenue.

• Republican incumbent David Borland, of Third Street.

The primary election is May 21.

Barring a strong write-in campaign, everyone running likely will be guaranteed a council seat after the General Election in November.

Tawnya Panizzi is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Tawnya at 412-782-2121 x1512, [email protected] or via Twitter .

Categories: Local | Fox Chapel
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.