Fox Chapel Area students selected for Spanish National Honor Society |
Fox Chapel

Fox Chapel Area students selected for Spanish National Honor Society

Tawnya Panizzi
Fox Chapel Area High School students were inducted into the Spanish National Honor Society April 8, 2019.

A group of Fox Chapel Area High School students donned red stoles and celebrated their induction into the Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica – Spanish National Honor Society — during an April 8 classroom ceremony.

Students were selected for their academic achievements in the Spanish language classes offered at the high school as well as their commitment to take the language each of their four years there.

“It is with great pride and pleasure that I welcome such a unique group of students every year since 2000 in an induction ceremony of our sociedad,” Spanish teacher Myriam Fontes said.

“This is a selected group that has excelled in Spanish language as well as proven to be deeply committed and dedicated to the study of Hispanic culture.”

The ceremony marked the 19th year for the tradition at Fox Chapel Area.

Founded in 1953 by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese, the national organization operates at the district under the chapter name, Federico García Lorca.

The group’s motto is “Todos a una,” or “All for one,” and their colors are red and gold.

“All Spanish teachers at the high school have been inducted, as well as several principals, along the years,” Fontes said.

Students inducted into the society this year are seniors Avery Bursick, Noah Fritsch, Nicole Garcia-Tunon, Flora Gladwin, Marissa Hardiman (secretary), Rachel Himmel, Mia Hursh (vice president), Nishika Mohnot, Michela Nicholas, Jared Nord, Jessica Paper, Ryan Setzenfand (president), Robert Shymansky, Jonathan Simon, Luis Fernández Treviño, Kenyon Weis, Landon Williams and Margaret Woodwell.

Tawnya Panizzi is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Tawnya at 412-782-2121 x1512, [email protected] or via Twitter .

Categories: Local | Fox Chapel
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.