ShareThis Page
Fox Chapel

Aspinwall council members sworn in, elect new leadership

Tawnya Panizzi
| Wednesday, Jan. 3, 2018, 2:27 p.m.
Marcia Cooper was sworn in as an Aspinwall Council member on Jan. 2.
A new council person is expected to be appointed in April to fill a vacancy.
Marcia Cooper was sworn in as an Aspinwall Council member on Jan. 2. A new council person is expected to be appointed in April to fill a vacancy.

Aspinwall council members on Tuesday night elected incumbent Tim McLaughlin as board president and newcomer Marcia Cooper as vice-president during the annual reorganization meeting.

Cooper, a Democrat, was elected to the leadership post immediately after being sworn in as a new council member, along with fellow Democrats David Brown and Lara Voytko. The three won four-year positions on council in the November general election. Republican incumbent Ann Marsico also secured another term in November and was sworn in during the meeting by District Judge Elissa Lang.

Cooper said council faces two pressing issues to start the year, filling the vacant mayor's position and also addressing how to staff the police department.

Council meets for its regular meeting at 7 p.m. Jan. 10 in the municipal office, 217 Commercial Ave.

Tawnya Panizzi is a staff writer for the Tribune-Review. Reach her at 412-782-2121, ext. 2, or @tawnyatrib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me