Several races unopposed; newcomer joins Murrysville council |

Several races unopposed; newcomer joins Murrysville council

Patrick Varine

While candidates in the Franklin Regional school board race were anxiously anticipating the first returns in Tuesday’s election, it was business as usual for Export council members John Nagoda, Joe Ferri, David Silvis and Vince Harding, who held their regular monthly meeting despite all being up for reelection.

Export council was among several races in the Star’s coverage that were uncontested.

Nagoda, a Democrat, and Republicans Ferri and Silvis all won reelection to four-year terms. Harding, a Republican, was appointed in January 2019 to replace Ed Persin, who resigned.

In Delmont, incumbents Dennis Urban and Becky Matesevac got new, four-year terms and former councilman David Weber, who earned a ballot spot through write-ins during the primary election,will return to council.

In Murrysville, Mayor Regis Synan ran unopposed for a new two-year term. For council, Republicans Tony Spadaro and Jamie Lee Korns both got new four-year terms alongside newcomer and fellow Republican Mac McKenna.

McKenna will replace current council President Josh Lorenz, who has reached his term limit for council.

Patrick Varine is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Patrick at 724-850-2862, [email protected] or via Twitter .

Categories: Local | Murrysville
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.