ShareThis Page
North Hills

Election results for North Hills municipal, school board races

Tony LaRussa
| Wednesday, Nov. 8, 2017, 10:12 a.m.

Here are unofficial results from the Nov. 7 general election for several North suburban elective offices:

McCandless Town Council

Ward 2

Republican Bill Kirk received 56.33 percent of the vote to defeat Democrat Barbara Richards, who got 43.67 percent, a difference of 12.66 percent.

Kirk will replace incumbent Republican Councilman Gerard Aufman, who decided against seeking a 12th term on council.

Ward 4

Incumbent Councilwoman Joan Powers won her first full term on council by fending off a challenge from Democrat Tim Glackin, who won a ballot spot in the primary with write-in votes.

Powers received 54.82 percent of the vote compared to 44.99 percent for Glackin.

Powers was appointed in 2015 to complete the term of her husband, Robert Powers, who was a member of council for nearly 42 years prior to his death.

Ward 6

Carolyn Schweiger defeated incumbent Republican Ralph LeDonne by a margin of 16.16 percent, ending the retired police chief's bid for a fourth term on council.

Schweiger switched from Democrat to Republican to challenge LeDonne in the primary. She lost that race, but received enough write-ins from Democrats to run in the general election.

Ross Township Commissioner

Ward 2

Incumbent Democrat Commissioner Stephen Korbel cruised to victory over GOP challenger James Knox to win a second term. Korbel pulled in 73.38 percent of the votes compared to 26.51 percent for Knox.

Ward 4

Joseph Laslavic, who defeated incumbent Commissioner Lana Mazur in the Democratic primary, won a four-year term in the general election with 56.34 percent of the vote compared to 43.66 percent cast for Republican Casey O'Donnell.

Ward 6

With 76.22 percent of the vote, Democrat Jason Pirring handily defeated GOP candidate Matthew Edlinger, who received 23.64 percent of the ballots cast.

In the May primary, Pirring beat incumbent Commissioner David Mikec, who was seeking a fifth term on the board.

Ward 8

Incumbent Republican Ward 8 Commissioner Jeremy Shaffer ran unopposed in the general election after winning the GOP nomination in the primary and receiving more write-in votes on the Democratic ticket than the two candidates who sought the party's nomination.

North Allegheny School Board

Two incumbents and two newcomers were elected to the North Allegheny School Board.

Incumbent Richard McClure received 20.94 percent of the vote — the most among the field of six candidates seeking four open board positions — to win a second term.

Scott Russell came in second with 20.47 percent of the votes tallied to win a second term on the board.

Allyson Minton and Andrew Chomos, who have not served on the board before, both won seats in the general election. Minton got 16.58 percent of the vote and Chomos received 15.31 percent.

Incumbent Susanne Filliagi did not seek re-election. Board member Tara Fisher resigned from the board in August for personal reasons and was replaced by Christopher M. Jacobs, who did not run for the open seat.

North Hills School Board

Only two of the four incumbents seeking re-election to posts on the school board retained their seats.

School board member Annette Giovengo Nolish received 19.84 percent of the total votes cast — the most of any of the six candidates seeking four open seats — to win a second term.

Sandra Kozera, who sought her first term on the board, received the second highest number of votes, 16.11 percent, followed by newcomer Allison Mathis, who picked up 15.45 percent.

Incumbent Kathy Reid received 13.7 percent of the ballots cast to win a third, four-year on term on the school board.

Incumbents Michael Yeomans and Joe Muha lost their bids for second terms.

Tony LaRussa is a Tribune-Review staff writer. Reach him at 724-772-6368 or or via Twitter @TonyLaRussaTrib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me