ShareThis Page

Election Day: Results from across Sewickley Valley communities

| Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2017, 8:06 p.m.

The following information is the unofficial election night final vote tally, which includes absentee ballots, from the Allegheny County Elections division. Information is unofficial until verified by elections division officials.


Region I (vote for 2)

Daniela Sauro Helkowski: 738

Jonathan Kuzma: 753

Region II (vote for 1)

Sarah Stoessel Heres: 727

Region III (vote for 1)

Kathryn Doebler: 1,145

Magisterial district judge (Leetsdale)

District Judge Bob Ford:,4,759


Commissioners (vote for 3)

George L. Jones: 235

Daniel M. Darragh: 222

Matthew Doebler: 221

Commissioner (vote for 1)

Michelle L. Duplaga: 216



Ronald L. Besong: 262

Council (vote for 4)

Brock Meanor: 205

Michelle Veeck: 191

Greg Wagner: 188

David Renfrew: 177

Philip Ewanko: 157



Gary L. Smith: 302

Council (vote for 4)

Joseph T. Hoepp: 259

Daniel Wilson: 254

Carrie Duffield: 252

Ivan T Hofmann: 240

Council (vote for 1)

Elizabeth H. Genter: 278


No candidates registered for the election, according to Allegheny County information.



Barbara Carrier: 122

Council (vote for 4)

John Orndorff: 109

Mary Scalercio: 108


No candidates registered for the election, according to Allegheny County information.


Commissioners (vote for 2)

Donna Adipietro: 275

James Janaszek: 176

Susan Beeman Barness: 147


Sitting council President Wes James was defeated in a re-election bid for Leetsdale Council, based on unofficial final voe tallies, according to Allegheny County Elections data. Returning to the board are Osman Awad and Benjimen Frederick. Thomas Belcasto was the highest vote getter. Thomas Michael rounded out the top four spots.


Pete Poninsky: 201

Council (vote for 4)

Thomas Belcastro: 185

Osman Awad: 180

Benjimen Frederick: 168

Thomas Michael: 131

Wesley James: 127


Ward I (vote for 2)

Christine Allen: 175

Sean A. Figley: 96

Write-in: 100

Ward II (vote for 1)

50-percent reporting

Todd Renner: 185

Write-in: 42

Ward III (vote for 2)

100-percent reporting

Jeff Neff: 122

Larry Rice: 98

Write-in: 56


Brian F. Jeffe: 563


Council (vote for 4)

Tom Pangburn: 109

Belinda Thompson: 107

Craig Kinney: 111

Phil Hundley: 108



David Malarik: 158

Council (vote for 3)

Licille W. Guttendorf: 138

Joseph H. Hajnas: 127

Write-in: 103

Bobby Cherry is a Tribune-Review staff writer. Reach him at and on Twitter at @bc_trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me