Highlands says goodbye to 4 outgoing school board members | TribLIVE.com
Valley News Dispatch

Highlands says goodbye to 4 outgoing school board members

Brian C. Rittmeyer

Highlands School Board gave fond farewells Monday night to four of its members who are leaving the nine-member board following this year’s election.

Leaving the board are Michael Masarik from Region 1, Jeff Mundy from Region 2, and Heath Cohen and Michelle Peters from Region 3.

Superintendent Monique Mawhinney praised them for their service and support to the district.

“Sometimes it can be a thankless job,” she said. “You will be missed.”

Board President Debbie Beale praised each of them for their contributions, noting they were on the board as it took on major issues and decisions, including closing the former Fawn elementary school, the district’s budget and bus contract.

“You all made a difference in this district,” she said.

While Mawhinney and Beale presented each of them with gifts, Mundy had one of his own for the district.

Mundy, one of the board’s representatives to the Forbes Road Career & Technology Center, donated back to the district the nearly $800 he was paid in mileage reimbursement to attend meetings at the Monroeville school. The board voted to accept it.

The school board will meet to reorganize at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 3 in the library at Highlands High School in Harrison.

Judy Wisner from Region 1 is the only incumbent board member whose seat was up and is remaining on the board.

The newly elected members are Gene Witt, also from Region 1; Kelli Canonge in Region 2; and Kristie Babinsack and Laura Butler in Region 3.

All five were uncontested in the Nov. 5 election.

Brian C. Rittmeyer is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Brian at 724-226-4701, [email protected] or via Twitter .

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.