ShareThis Page

Energetic guest conductor inspires fresh performances

| Saturday, March 28, 2015, 12:01 a.m.

The Heinz Hall debut of conductor Andres Orozco-Estrada was quite an occasion Friday night because he showed many levels of mastery and inspired the musicians to emotionally generous performances.

Orozco-Estrada, 37, became music director of the Houston Symphony in September. He is energetic and passionate, but also possesses genuine lyrical sensibilities and is exceptionally attuned to full orchestral textures.

He opened with a decisive account of Mason Bates “The Rise of Exotic Computing,” the premiere of which was given by the Pittsburgh Symphony at the Club Static on April 5, 2013.

The piece was inspired by the idea of synthetic computing – computers generating their own ideas. Bates runs with it by using short motifs, which jump from instrument to instrument. Some ideas bring minimalism to mind, but Bates' musical thinking is far more playful and engaging.

The members of the horn section were the stars in a thrilling performance of Robert Schumann's “Konzertstuck for Four Horns.” The tonal richness produced by William Caballero, Robert Lauver, Mark Houghton and Joseph Rounds was a joy to the ear. Caballero and Lauver played beautifully in the slow movement, while the virtuosity of all four players in the finale was a tour de force at a break-neck tempo.

The fun encore was Lauver's arrangement of David Rose's “Holiday for Strings,” renamed “Holiday for Horns.”

Orozco-Estrada led accompaniment that was with the soloists every step of the way.

But the guest conductor really showed his mettle in a terrific performance of Johannes Brahms' “Symphony No. 1.” The music is ultra-familiar, yet Orozco-Estrada found ways to keep it constantly fresh. None of it depended on distortion or exaggeration – just inspiring musicianship.

The pacing felt entirely natural in all four movements, and was adjusted with sensitivity and taste. Guest concertmaster Nathan Olson offered nicely played solos in the slow movement, but there were remarkable solos from all the principal winds.

This concert will be repeated at 7:30 p.m. Saturday and 2:30 p.m. Sunday at Heinz Hall, Downtown. Admission is $25.75 to $105.75. Details: 412-392-4900 or

Mark Kanny is classical music critic for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 412-320-7877 or

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me