Next Democratic presidential debate airs Thursday night on ABC |
Politics Election

Next Democratic presidential debate airs Thursday night on ABC

Samson X Horne
Signage is erected for the upcoming Democratic presidential primary debates hosted by ABC on the campus of Texas Southern University, Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019, in Houston. (AP Photo/Eric Gay)

The first presidential debate of the 2020 election season to include all of the major Democratic candidates at one venue — at the same time — is set to take place Thursday.

After the DNC upped the standards to qualify for this debate, only 10 of the previous 20-plus candidates will take the stage.

They include: former Vice President Joe Biden, New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker, South Bend, Ind. Mayor Pete Buttigieg, former HUD Secretary Julián Castro, California Sen. Kamala Harris, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar, former Texas Rep. Beto O’Rourke, Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders, Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren and entrepreneur Andrew Yang.

ABC will broadcast the three-hour event from the campus of Texas Southern University in Houston, from 8 to 11 p.m.

Health care, immigration, the economy and climate change are sure to be among the topics.

The intrigue this go-around is that some of the candidates who are polling high will have the opportunity to interact with other high pollsters — some of which would be first-time interactions.

According to Vox, Joe Biden is slated to stand between Sanders and Warren.

Biden, who has been atop the polls all year has yet to experience any danger of falling from that spot, Vox reported.

Sanders and Warren have jumped one another multiple times for the second spot.

Harris and Buttigieg reportedly round out the top five.

Another change from the previous two debates, candidates have the opportunity for opening statements, but no closing statements will be given.

In case you were wondering, here’s who did not get the invite for Thursday: Colorado Sen. Michael Bennet, Montana Gov. Steve Bullock, New York Mayor Bill de Blasio, former Maryland Rep. John Delaney, Hawaii Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, Miramar, Fla. Mayor Wayne Messam, former Pennsylvania Rep. Joe Sestak, billionaire Tom Steyer and author Marianne Williamson.

Samson X Horne is a Tribune-Review digital producer. You can contact Samson at 412-320-7845, [email protected] or via Twitter .

Categories: News | Politics Election
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.