The highest-paid CEOs by state |

The highest-paid CEOs by state

Associated Press
In this March 14, 2019, photo Tesla CEO Elon Musk speaks before unveiling the Model Y at Tesla’s design studio in Hawthorne, Calif. Musk was the top paid CEO in California for 2018, as calculated by The Associated Press and Equilar, an executive data firm. The survey includes only CEOs who have been in place for at least two years, but it does not limit the survey to companies in the S&P 500, as the AP’s general compensation study does. That’s why it includes Musk. Musk earned $2.28 Billion in 2018.

Here are the top paid CEOs by state for 2018, as calculated by The Associated Press and Equilar, an executive data firm.

The survey considered only publicly traded companies with more than $1 billion in revenue that filed their proxy statements with federal regulators between Jan. 1 and April 30. Not every state has such a company headquartered there. The survey includes only CEOs who have been in place for at least two years, but it does not limit the survey to companies in the S&P 500, as the AP’s general compensation study does. That’s why it includes such CEOs as Tesla’s Elon Musk.

To calculate CEO pay, Equilar adds salary, bonus, stock awards, stock option awards, deferred compensation and other components that include benefits and perks. For some companies, big raises can occur when CEOs get a stock grant in one year as part of a multi-year grant.

Median pay for S&P 500 CEOs was $12 million last year. Median means half made more, and half made less.


Alabama: J. Thomas Hill, Vulcan Materials, $7.8 million

Arizona: Richard Adkerson, Freeport-McMoRan, $14 million

Arkansas: C. Douglas McMillon, Walmart, $23.6 million

California: Elon Musk, Tesla, $2.28 Billion

Colorado: Gregory Maffei, Liberty Media, $20.2 million

Connecticut: Glenn Fogel, Booking Holdings, $20.5 million

Delaware: Hervé Hoppenot, Incyte, $9.3 million

Washington, D.C.: Thomas Joyce, Jr., Danaher, $15.4 million

Florida: Frank Del Rio, Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings, $22.6 million

Georgia: Martin Richenhagen, AGCO, $18.6 million

Hawaii: Constance Lau, Hawaiian Electric Industries, $5.7 million

Idaho: Darrel Anderson, IDACORP, $4.5 million

Illinois: Miles White , Abbott Laboratories, $24.3 million

Indiana: David Ricks, Eli Lilly, $15.7 million

Iowa: Daniel Houston, Principal Financial Group, $10.5 million

Kansas: Thomas Gentile III, Spirit AeroSystems, $9.9 million

Kentucky: William Carstanjen, Churchill Downs, $21.1 million

Louisiana: Leo Denault, Entergy, $9.3 million

Maine: Jonathan Ayers, IDEXX Laboratories, $6.8 million

Maryland: David Zaslav, Discovery, $129.5 million

Massachussetts: James Heppelmann, PTC, $50 million

Michigan: Mary Barra, General Motors, $21.9 million

Minnesota: James Cracchiolo, Ameriprise Financial, $24.8 million

Mississippi: Joe Sanderson, Jr., Sanderson Farms, $4.2 million

Missouri: Michael Neidorff, Centene, $26.1 million

Nebraska: Lance Fritz, Union Pacific, $12.8 million

Nevada: Sheldon Adelson, Las Vegas Sands, $24 million

New Hampshire: Timothy McGrath, PC Connection, $4.5 million

New Jersey: Kenneth Frazier, Merck, $20.9 million

New Mexico: Patricia Collawn, PNM Resources, $4.8 million

New York: James Dimon, JPMorgan Chase, $30 million

North Carolina: Brian Moynihan, Bank of America, $22.5 million

North Dakota: David Goodin, MDU Resources Group, $4.1 million

Ohio: Gary Heminger, Marathon Petroleum, $18.9 million

Oklahoma: Harold Hamm, Continental Resources, $13.3 million

Oregon: Bryan DeBoer, Lithia Motors, $5.5 million

Pennsylvania: Brian Roberts, Comcast, $35 million

Rhode Island: Larry Merlo, CVS Health, $21.9 million

South Carolina: John Williams, Domtar, $8 million

South Dakota: David Emery, Black Hills , $4.1 million (left company on Dec. 31, 2018)

Tennessee: R. Milton Johnson, HCA Healthcare, $20.1 million (left company on Dec. 31, 2018)

Texas: Lewis Bird III, At Home Group, $43.1 million

Utah: Joseph Margolis, Extra Space Storage, $4.4 million

Virginia: Paul Saville, NVR, $39.1 million

Washington: John Legere, T-Mobile US, $66.5 million

Wisconsin: Jeffery Yabuki, Fiserv, $12.4 million

Categories: Business | Wire stories
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.