ShareThis Page
Ex-Steeler Alan Faneca falls short of Hall of Fame; Ty Law makes cut |

Ex-Steeler Alan Faneca falls short of Hall of Fame; Ty Law makes cut

Joe Rutter


Alan Faneca didn’t get the knock on his hotel room door for the fourth year in a row, which signified he missed the cut for the Pro Football Hall of Fame again.

Aliquippa native Ty Law was more fortunate.

Law was among five modern-era candidates selected Saturday, making the Hall of Fame in his third year as a finalist. The others picked were center Kevin Mawae, cornerback Champ Bailey, safety Ed Reed and tight end Tony Gonzalez. Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen and former Dallas Cowboys personnel head Gil Brandt were elected as contributors, and former Kansas City Chiefs defensive back Johnny Robinson was elected in the senior category.

Bailey, Reed and Gonzalez were elected in their first year of eligibility.

Law, 44, spent 10 of his 15 years with the New England Patriots, becoming the first longtime member of their dynasty to be welcomed into doors of the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. He was a four-time Pro Bowl selection and two-time All-Pro. He also won three Super Bowls with the Patriots.

“I’m so happy to be the one that will be representing them,” Law told SiriusXM NFL Radio. “But I’m quite sure I won’t be by myself for long.”

The nephew of Hall of Fame member Tony Dorsett of Hopewell and Pitt fame, Law said becoming a football player always was his dream while growing up in Aliquippa.

“I knew at a very early age that we eat, sleep and live football,” Law said. “We played baseball. We played basketball, but we lived football.”

The Patriots’ first-round draft pick in 1995, Law tied the franchise record with 36 interceptions. He spent his final five seasons with the New York Jets, Kansas City Chiefs and Denver Broncos and finished with 53 career interceptions.

The 48-member Hall of Fame selection committee spent more than 27 minutes discussing Law’s candidacy, the longest time devoted to any finalist. Law’s chances were boosted by letters of recommendation from Patriots quarterback Tom Brady and owner Robert Kraft.

The committee narrowed the 15 finalists to 10, with players Isaac Bruce, John Lynch and Richard Seymour and coaches Tom Flores and Don Coryell missing the cut. Faneca and the three other offensive linemen on the ballot — Steve Hutchinson and Tony Boselli among them — were in the final 10, but only Mawae advanced to the final five.

Also failing to make the final cut were Steve Atwater and Edgerrin James.

The committee debated the candidates for 712 hours Saturday before Hall of Fame president David Baker went knocking on the doors of those elected to the exclusive club.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be Aug. 3 in Canton.

Faneca, 42, made nine Pro Bowls and was a six-time first-team All-Pro in his 13-year career, the first 10 of which he spent with the Steelers. He missed only two games, and one because of injury, in his lengthy career.

Next season, he will face competition from one of his former teammates. Safety Troy Polamalu, a former NFL Defensive Player of the Year and six-time All-Pro, will be eligible for the Hall of Fame in 2020.

Joe Rutter is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Joe at [email protected] or via Twitter @tribjoerutter.

Joe Rutter is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Joe by email at [email protected] or via Twitter .

Former Steelers offensive lineman Alan Faneca is a finalist for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
Categories: Sports | Steelers
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.