ShareThis Page
District Colleges

College notes: Westmoreland YWCA to honor Sportswomen of the year

| Thursday, April 4, 2013, 8:55 p.m.

The Greensburg Ramada Inn and Conference Center on April 11 will host an annual banquet open to the public honoring the winner of the YWCA Westmoreland Sportswomen of the Year.

Devin McGrath, a four-year starter on the St. Vincent College women's basketball team and a three-time all-Presidents' Athletic Conference selection, will receive the annual award.

The St. Vincent women's tennis team will be recognized with the Committee's Choice Award after securing the first conference championship in program history with an unbeaten 14-0 record in the regular season and a 9-0 mark in the PAC.

The banquet will be held from 6 to 8:30 p.m. General admission tickets are $32. Student admission is $20.

The banquet, in its 19th year, has honored more than 1,000 female athletes.

McGrath twice was named a first-team all-PAC selection in 2012 and ‘13. As a senior, she led the PAC in rebounding (10.3 rpg.) and was the only women's basketball player in the conference to average a double-double, ranking fourth in the league in scoring (16.1 ppg.).

McGrath finished her college career 10th on St. Vincent's all-time scoring list with 1,387 points.

The women's tennis team, under first-year coach Chris McMahon, shared the PAC Tournament title with Westminster (Pa.) and earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament — their first postseason appearance — because of a regular-season victory over Westminster.

St. Vincent team members included seniors Jessica McKetta, Chantal Mitchell and Stephanie Rubin; junior Amanda Gans; sophomores Kylie Auman and Regina Woloshun; and freshmen Jacquelyn Hauser, Hannah Kahn, Shayla Landman and Amanda Marker.

Tickets can be purchased by calling 724-834-9390.


Seton Hill left-hander Alex Haines has been named West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Pitcher of the Week for his three-hitter in an 8-0 victory over Pitt-Johnstown. Haines, a Hempfield High School product, struck out eight and improved his record to 4-0. Seton Hill, 21-6 before Wednesday's scheduled game at Bluefield State, was ranked No. 1 in the lastest NCAA Division II Atlantic Region playoffs poll.


The Seton Hill men's team swept the latest Eastern College Athletic Conference weekly awards, senior attack Taylor Mansfield earning player of the week and senior goalkeeper Chris Ilse sharing defensive player of the week. The Griffins' 2-0 week was led by Mansfield's six goals and seven assists and Ilse, who allowed a total of 11 goals while making 24 saves.


Pitt-Greensburg center fielder Emily Banner has been named Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Player of the Week. The freshman from Latrobe High School batted .529 with 3 RBI, four runs and was 7 for 7 in stolen bases during a 2-2 week for the Bobcats.

Track and field

Sophomores Mallory Sanner, Jeannie Bujdos and Algeron Johnson recently were awarded weekly honors in the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference following performances at the Vertklasse Meeting at High Point (N.C.).

Sanner earned women's field athlete of the week for posting an NCAA-qualifying distance of 144 feet, 11 inches in the javelin. Bujdos won women's track athlete of the week, setting a school record in the 1,500 meters with a time of 4 minutes, 44.86 seconds. Both marks were fourth best in Division II this season. Johnson won men's track athlete of the week, finishing fourth in the 400-meter hurdles with a WVIAC season-best 54.95 seconds.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me