First call: Reaves autographs Wilson photo; no angle, no problem for Crosby
It's all hockey in this Friday's "First Call." Sidney Crosby gives us another head-scratcher. Ryan Reaves rubs it in the face of Tom Wilson. A remarkable sled hockey goal. And a weird penalty shot.
As we mentioned here Wednesday, notorious Washington headhunter Tom Wilson was knocked out with a blindside hit by former Penguin Ryan Reaves during a loss to Vegas.
In case you missed it ...
Reaves apparently signed copies of a photo commemorating the hit.
Also inscribed on the pictures was the quote Reaves gave to the media after the game, "He ran into a lion in the jungle."
I'm not saying I'd like a copy as a gift for Christmas. I'll just drop hints that I currently have some free space on a wall in my bedroom.
Oh, wait. I forgot. Twitter told me I'm supposed to feel guilty for thinking that. Sorry. I feel shame.
That kind of eye-for-an-eye karma appears to be too politically incorrect these days. So, the photos weren't distributed and were destroyed.
So says a Golden Knights spokesperson, according to The Washington Post.
Yeah, right. I bet Reaves bought them back himself and will be sending them out as his Christmas card.
I just hope I'm on his list.
Sid matches Sprong
Did you see former Penguin Daniel Sprong's goal on his second shift with Anaheim Wednesday night? He was almost on the goal line, parallel with the net.
Somehow, he roofed it through a hole over Corey Crawford's shoulder, short side.
The Ducks won 4-2.
Not to be outdone, Sidney Crosby pulled off something similar last night against the Islanders.
And not a single angle was needed that night for Sidney Crosby. pic.twitter.com/gTECNjiNej— NHL (@NHL) December 7, 2018
Worse angle. Better chance for the goalie. Equal shot.
Your move, Sprong-er.
Crosby had two assists as well as the Penguins won 6-2.
Here's a weird one
Arizona's Richard Panik was given an odd penalty shot last night. Washington's Brett Connolly knocked a loose stick into the puck while Panik had it in the Washington defensive zone.
The Arizona Coyotes were awarded a penalty shot because Brett Connolly threw an object at the puck in the defensive zone. In this instance, it was a Jonas Siegenthaler's stick. pic.twitter.com/cCp0p9jUEa— Ian Oland (@ianoland) December 7, 2018
Apparently, this infraction results in a penalty shot.
Rule 53.6 appears to be the applicable rule to why the Coyotes were awarded a penalty shot in that situation . pic.twitter.com/SjiQP8BeOF— Tom Gulitti (@TomGulittiNHL) December 7, 2018
But Panik missed it. The Capitals won by a final score of 4-2.
We've seen this fish before
Remember when Marc-Andre Fleury would give a little love to the goal posts when an attacker would hit a pipe with a shot?
Well, he's taken that tradition to Vegas. And the pipe was deserving on this one!
The Knights ended up beating Chicago, 4-3. They've won seven of eight.
Check out this sick sled hockey goal from Team USA captain Josh Pauls.
That was like Mario Lemieux splitting the North Stars defense in the 1991 Stanley Cup Final.
Except Pauls split the defense twice on the same play. You try that, 66!