ShareThis Page
Other Local

Local racing notebook: Former Lernerville champion Shaffer leads Speedweek

| Friday, June 28, 2013, 12:46 a.m.

Heavy rains canceled the All-Star Sprint race at Sharon Speedway as part of Ohio's All-Star Sprint Speedweek.

Speedweek is scheduled for Limaland Motorsports Park on Friday. The Speedweek finale is back at Fremont on Saturday.

Shane Stewart won Monday's race at Wayne County Speedway. Brad Sweet took the checkered flag at Waynesfield Raceway Park on Sunday and Jac Haudenschild won at Eldora Speedway on Saturday.

Through Monday's race, Timmy Shaffer had a six-point lead over Danny Holtgraver in the Speedweek standings. Both drivers are former Lernerville Speedway champions, Shaffer in 1993 and Holtgraver in 2010. Dale Blaney, Lernerville's 1991 champion, is fourth in Speedweek points, 20 points behind Shaffer.

McCool wins WoO race

Bub McCool, the 2012 World of Outlaws Late Model Series Rookie of the Year, won the final WoO race before the Firecracker 100. The victory at Canandaigua (N.Y.) Motorsports Park was his first of the season and the second of his career.

Timmy Fuller finished second, and heading into Thursday's opening night of the Firecracker, stretched his winless streak on tour to 119 races, dating back to June 17, 2010, at Merrittville Speedway in Ontario.

Pegher Jr. gets 100th

Mike Pegher Jr. ventured to Hagerstown Speedway last Friday for the RUSH Dirt Late Model Touring Series event and came away with the 100th victory of his career.

Drivers from five states and Canada took part in the event. Pegher started the race in the seventh spot and took the lead on lap five of 30. Andrew Satterlee finished second.

It took Pegher, Lernerville's 2007 Stock champion, just one more night to earn victory No. 101. The RUSH Dirt Late Model Touring Series moved on to Roaring Knob for night two of the Mid-Atlantic Triple Crown. The venue was different, but the result was the same, as Pegher won the 30-lap feature. He started on the pole and never relinquished the lead, holding off Jaren Hawkins.

The final race of the Triple Crown, scheduled for Sunday at Allegany County Speedway, was canceled due to a sparse crowd and large purse, according to the track's website. So, by virtue of his wins at Hagerstown and Roaring Knob, Pegher was crowned the winner.

The RUSH Dirt Late Models are off until Lernerville Speedway on July 5 and Sharon Speedway on July 6.

Summer Nationals

While most eyes in the region will be on the Firecracker, the DIRTcar Summer Nationals are continuing. Since the last update, Brandon Sheppard won a pair of shows in Illinois. That was followed by Chris Simpson's victory at Tri-City Speedway. Ryan Unzicker and Shannon Babb also won races.

The Nationals will be at Paducah Speedway on Saturday and Lincoln Speedway on Sunday. Through two weeks, Sheppard had a 78-point lead over Unzicker. The Summer Nationals won't conclude until July 20 at Oakshade Raceway.

The Modified tour is shadowing the Late Models and through the first two weeks, Ray Bollinger leads Jeff Curl by nine points and Jeff Leka by 18.

Thomas Zuck is a freelance writer.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me