Penguins announce season-opening roster |

Penguins announce season-opening roster

Seth Rorabaugh

The Penguins announced their season opening roster, which is composed of 13 forwards, eight defensemen and two goaltenders:

Forwards: Zach Aston-Reese, Nick Bjugstad, Teddy Blueger, Sidney Crosby, Alex Galchenyuk, Jake Guentzel, Patric Hornqvist, Dominik Kahun, Evgeni Malkin, Jared McCann, Bryan Rust, Dominik Simon and Brandon Tanev.

Defensemen: Brian Dumoulin, Erik Gudbranson, Jack Johnson, Kris Letang, Marcus Pettersson, Juuso Riikola, Chad Ruhwedel and Justin Schultz.

Goaltenders: Tristan Jarry and Matt Murray.

The Penguins assigned goaltender Casey DeSmith, who cleared waivers at noon Tuesday, and defenseman John Marino to Wilkes-Barre/Scranton of the American Hockey League. General manager Jim Rutherford previously said he expected Marino to begin the season on the NHL roster.

Defenseman Zach Trotman was placed on long-term injured reserve because of a sports hernia. Rust will be placed on long-term injured reserve because of a suspected left-hand injury after the roster is officially submitted to the NHL’s central registry.

The deadline to become compliant with the NHL’s salary cap was 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Follow the Penguins all season long.

Seth Rorabaugh is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Seth by email at [email protected] or via Twitter .

Categories: Sports | Penguins
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.