Penguins' Brian Dumoulin trying to put controversial call behind him
Penguins defenseman Brian Dumoulin did a pretty convincing job telling reporters Tuesday that he's moved past the controversial goaltender interference call that cost him his fifth goal of the season Saturday night in Toronto.
"It's over with and done with," Dumoulin said.
Still, it's hard to imagine there isn't some lingering bitterness.
Dumoulin appeared to score a highlight-reel goal in the second period of Saturday's game when he skated up the right wing, swooped to the far post and deposited a shot in off the right skate of goalie Frederik Andersen.
Referee Dean Morton waved the goal off and gave Dumoulin a minor penalty for goaltender interference for grazing Andersen's helmet while moving across the face of goal. Toronto scored on the ensuing power play and went on to win, 5-2.
"I was obviously pretty upset," Dumoulin said. "I don't score a lot of goals. Obviously that's one I'd like to have. I thought, personally, I did everything I could to try to avoid it, but it is what it is. It's no goal. It's a couple games ago. It's over."
Dumoulin downplayed his role in the season-long debate about how goaltender interference is called in the NHL.
"That goal wasn't like the first one to kind of bring up that discussion," Dumoulin said. "It's ongoing. Obviously there's a lot of gray area. A lot of guys still don't know what a goal is and what's not. When it comes to review, it could go 50-50. It's not something you can really focus on or stress too much about. It is what it is."
Jonathan Bombulie is a Tribune-Review staff writer. Reach him at email@example.com or via Twitter @BombulieTrib.