ShareThis Page

Four Steelers legends among Man of Year winners to be honored at Super Bowl

Joe Rutter
| Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2018, 5:33 p.m.
Steelers defensive end Cam Heyward celebrates with coach Mike Tomlin after their 39-38 victory over the Ravens on Sunday, Dec. 10, 2017, at Heinz Field.
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
Steelers defensive end Cam Heyward celebrates with coach Mike Tomlin after their 39-38 victory over the Ravens on Sunday, Dec. 10, 2017, at Heinz Field.

The NFL is planning to honor former Walter Payton Man of the Year winners on Feb. 4 at the Super Bowl in Minneapolis. The Steelers will be well represented.

Franco Harris, Joe Greene, Lynn Swann and Jerome Bettis are among the former winners that will be recognized on the field prior to kickoff. They are among 28 members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame who have won the Man of the Year award.

The family of Payton, the late Chicago Bears running back, will be on hand as will the family of late Baltimore Colts quarterback Johnny Unitas.

Bettis is the most recent Steelers player to win the award, claiming it in 2001. Harris (1976), Greene (1979) and Swann (1981) were Steelers players who won the award three times in a six-year span.

Defensive end Cam Heyward is the Steelers' nominee this season. The 2017 winner will be announced Feb. 3 during a prime-time awards special on NBC.

Other prior winners are former Pitt wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (2016), Woodland Hills High School graduate Jason Taylor (2007), former Central Catholic and Pitt star Dan Marino (1998), Youngwood native George Blanda (1974) and Pittsburgh native Unitas (1970).

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me