Westmoreland campus clippings: Seton Hill lacrosse teams tournament-bound | TribLIVE.com
District College

Westmoreland campus clippings: Seton Hill lacrosse teams tournament-bound

Bill Beckner

Seton Hill will be well-represented at the NCAA Division II lacrosse championships.

The Griffins men’s and women’s teams earned spots in this week’s national tournaments.

Seton Hill (12-4) is the No. 5 seed in the men’s North Region and will open at No. 4 Mercy (17-1) at 3 p.m. Wednesday. The Griffins are in the NCAA tournament for the second time in three seasons.

Mercy, located in Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., defeated LIU Post on Saturday to win its first East Coast Conference title. Seton Hill is the Great Midwest Athletic Conference runner-up.

Mercyhurst is the No. 3 seed and will host defending champion and No. 6 Merrimack in the first round.

Seton Hill’s women are in the national bracket for the first time and are seeded No 4 in the Atlantic Region. The Griffins (11-8) will travel to play No. 1 West Chester (17-2) at 11 a.m. Friday.

West Chester is riding an 11-game winning streak, including a 16-15 overtime win over Seton Hill in the PSAC semifinals.

No. 2 East Stroudsburg meets No. 3 Mercyhurst in another first-round match at West Chester.

Seton Hill also earned its share of postseason accolades. By winning five of the six major awards in the Great Midwest Athletic Conference, the Griffin men established their presence.

Junior Max Eismann was named the G-MAC’s top goalie, junior midfielder Jay Scerbo the top specialist and Christian Krauch the top freshman.

Griffins’ leader Brian Novotny was named coach of the year.

Senior Brett Craig, Eismann, Scerbo, junior Logan Maloni and senior John Miller were first-team all-conference picks. For the women, redshirt senior Keagan Pontious (attack) and junior Emma Haley (defender) were named to the All-PSAC first team, and Courtney Grove was lauded as the conference coach of the year.


Indiana State: Redshirt junior Collin Liberatore (Greensburg Central Catholic) was named Missouri Valley Conference Pitcher of the Week for the second consecutive time. Liberatore moved to 9-0 with another strong outing in a 13-1 victory over Illinois State. He struck out eight and walked two. He has worked seven or more innings eight times this season.

Liberatore has a 0.67 ERA against conference opponents.

La Roche: Freshman pitcher Tre Cunningham (Jeannette) picked up his first win for the Redhawks (27-13, 16-2 AMCC) in a 3-2 victory over Bethany. Cunningham, a former Tribune-Review baseball and basketball athlete of the year, worked two scoreless innings, allowing one hit. He is 1-3 with a 5.40 ERA in 10 appearances.

Saint Vincent: SVC earned a senior day split with Washington & Jefferson. The Bearcats (20-18, 12-11) ralled to win Game 2, 9-6, as senior Nick Lacava went 2 for 4 with a double and drove in a pair of runs. Sophomore TJ Dailey added two hits and two runs.


Penn State: Freshman Chelsea Bisi (Derry) was named the Nittany Lions’ offensive player of the year after a breakthrough season. The outfielder, who also has played some corner infield, was the team leader in home runs (13), RBIs (37) and doubles (10) heading into the team’s final regular season game. She was hitting .324.

Seton Hill: Three players were named to the All-PSAC West teams: senior Devyn Terry as a pitcher, junior shortstop Christiana Skrabak (at large) and sophomore Jenna Osikowicz (Hempfield) made it as an outfielder.

Terry led the Griffins with 16 wins and had a 2.89 ERA, 122 strikeouts and pitched a late-season no-hitter.

Osikowicz led the team with a .403 average, 58 hits, four triples and 12 steals.

Skrabak led the team with 30 runs and tied for the team lead with six home runs.

Slippery Rock: Redshirt freshman Adeline Nicholson (Southmoreland) was named to the All-PSAC West First Team. Nicholson, in her first year as a full-timer in the lineup, hit .292 with a team-best six home runs and 30 RBIs. She started 44 games.


Morehead State: Freshman Katie Frye (Derry) was selected to the All-Ohio Valley Conference Smallmore All-Newcomer Team.

Tennessee-Martin: Junior Kaitlin Korinek (Penn-Trafford) was named to the All-Ohio Valley Conference First Team and the All-OVC Smallbore Second Team.

Bill Beckner Jr. is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Bill by email at [email protected] or via Twitter .

Categories: Sports | College-District
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.