ShareThis Page

Newest WPIAL Hall of Fame class is named

| Thursday, April 12, 2012

WPIAL officials today announced the inductees for the 2012 class of the WPIAL Hall of Fame at the Heinz History Center.

The class includes 17 players, coaches, officials, teams and contributors who will be enshrined at the DoubleTree Hotel in Green Tree on June 1.

The class includes athletes Sean Miller (Blackhawk basketball); Neil Walker (Pine-Richland baseball); Jess Strom (Steel Valley basketball, soccer); Ron Sepic (Uniontown basketball, football); Frank Fuhrer III (Fox Chapel golf); Kelly Kovach (Baldwin softball, basketball, volleyball); Mel Nash (Gateway swimming); Derek Bochna (Mapletown football); and Robert "Red" Worrell (Centerville football, basketball, baseball, track).

Coaches to be inducted are John Miller (Blackhawk basketball), Chuck Wagner (Oakmont, Riverview, Fox Chapel, Springdale football) and Andy Urbanic (Penn Hills football).

This year's hall of fame teams are the 1989 Upper St. Clair football team and 1960 Farrell basketball team.

Sara and Mark Pilarski from Hampton will receive this year's John Challis Courage Award.

Also being inducted are contributor Bob Bleggi (track and field) and official Zigmund "Red" Mihalik (basketball, football).

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me