ShareThis Page

Hawe receives Tener honor

| Sunday, Sept. 16, 2001

Lois Hawe, president of the Friends of Tener Library, was honored recently at a gathering of friends at the John K. Tener Library, located at Seventh Street and Fallowfield Avenue in Charleroi.

Hawe was singled out to receive the organization's Carabina Niccolai Award for her dedication and untiring efforts at preserving the public facility.

A tea social, held Monday afternoon in the library's Community Room, brought words of praise from a number of those who have been associated with the honoree over the years.

Della Lammay, the 1999 recipient of the award, said Hawe was the first president of the Friends when it was organized in 1985 and has been its president since. 'The members won't let her quit. She is the most organized person I know and she keeps all of us busy (with projects and fund-raisers). She makes sure money is there to meet library expenses. Over the years, she's been instrumental for earning more than $250,000 for upkeep of the library.'

Lammay noted that Carabina Niccolai was a woman very much like Lois Hawe. 'In the 1970s, Carabina did a magnificent job of raising funds to make sure the library remained a library. She even sold cookies and crafts that she made herself to raise funds.'

Mary Elizabeth Fisher, who served as master of ceremonies for the program and is corresponding secretary for the Friends, said, 'We feel Lois is mainly responsible for keeping the library open and also instrumental in having the building itself, which was a former post office, declared a historical landmark.'

Attorney Richard C. Mudrick, president of the library's board of directors, described Hawe as 'an amazing woman.' He continued, 'I don't know where this library would be without her and those schooled by her. Lois is an indispensable part of what goes on at the library. She's done this job (president of Friends) for 16 years, which itself is a remarkable feat. To have the patience and willingness to do it that many years, she has to have the library as well as education in her heart.'

In accepting the award, Hawe, a former educator with the Charleroi School District, humbly offered, 'I appreciate everything this group (Friends) has done in the past and for this award today. But, really the greatest satisfaction is having the opportunity to have worked with these people over the years. They are truly a real joy.'

The Rev. Edward Bailey, pastor of the First Methodist Church of Charleroi, gave the invocation and also offering remarks were Charleroi Mayor Edward Paluso; Dr. John Lozosky, superintendent of the Charleroi Area School District; Darlene Pennline, president of the Charleroi Historical Society; and Jean Careatti, president of the Athena Club of Charleroi. Hawe is a past president of both groups.

Special guests included Merrill Holman, Hawe's supervising teacher at the Noss Laboratory School (currently California University of Pennsylvania); Terry Necciai, preservationist and architect who guided the Friends in obtaining the library building's historical status; Mary Margaret Summerville of Hagerstown, Md., a close friend, and Hawe's nephew and wife, Kenneth and Pat Green, of St. Louis, Mo.

Catherine Kelly and Ella Colvin were co-chairpersons for the hostess committee and attending the tea table were Aleta Keating and Helen Ferrara.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me