ShareThis Page

On the move

| Thursday, May 10, 2012, 10:44 p.m.

Aunup Bhattacharyya , senior at Franklin Regional High School, was selected as a member of the PMEA Honors Chorus.

California University of Pennsylvania's student body elected the following students for the 2003 homecoming court: Jacob Losko , Brownsville; and Jeffrey Love , Scottdale.

Megan E. Romano , Greensburg, a biology major carrying a minor in art history, was honored as a 2003 Allegheny College Cornerstone recipient . She worked on America Reads and Make a Difference Day projects and was a founding member of the Faith and Justice House on the Meadville campus.

Jason Yaley , Greensburg, and Caroline Kinsey , Export, are members of the Syracuse University Marching Band. Yaley is a junior international relations major, and Kinsey is a sophomore advertising major.

Katherine Frey , Murrysville, was named a Chancellor Scholar at Syracuse University, New York. She is majoring in broadcast journalism.

Lauren Comunale , Trafford, received a Dean's Scholarship from Syracuse University. She is majoring in marketing management.

Kelly Lauren , Belle Vernon, has been inducted into the Ashland University's Rho Lambda. She is a business management major who was invited to join based on her grade point average and community service.

Cara Lynn Miller , Herminie, will compete for the title of Miss Pennsylvania Teen USA the weekend of Nov. 28 at the Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh International Airport in Pittsburgh. She is a student at Yough Senior High School, where her activities include high school majorettes, CAP/SADD, powder-puff football, prom committee and youth group for church.

The American Red Cross of Westmoreland County held its annual volunteer recognition dinner at the Greensburg Garden & Civic Center. Service pins were awarded to Phylis Ackerman, Patty Gettys and Marilyn Hults , five years of service; Eddie Anzur, Dick Arnowitz, Helen Boronak, Mickey Doak, Marion Herrington, Lyle Hovland, Shirley Jordan, Bill Kindelan, Lillian Rupert, Charlotte Shrader, Julie Sieczkowski, John Sproull and Don Ulens , 10 years of service; Al Barnett, Stephanie Bartus, Pete Bellono, Dorothy Brill, Martha King, Hope Magalich, Elizabeth Ann Olson, Dawn Ritter, Bob Rhody, Helen Torrance and Lois Weirs , 15 years of service; Marie Miller, Laverne Stoner and Pelina Ottenberg , 20 years of service; Ruth Loucks and Patricia Shultz , 25 years of service; Emma Christofano and Dorothy Weldon , 30 years of service; Eugene Kolbosky, Marjorie Sutter and Elvira Bruno , 40 years of service; and Connie Perez , 65 years of service.

Outstanding New Volunteer Awards were presented to Pat Timek, Janice Huba, Ian Magazine and Don Bixby. Lukas Toth was awarded The President's Student Service Award. He is a member of the U.S. Coast Guard Reserve and has contributed 500 hours to the Red Cross.

Hults, a volunteer health and safety inspector, received the Carol Navarre Memorial Award; Elvira Bruno was awarded the Martha Mickley Award; Good Neighbor awards were presented to businesses or community groups that have worked with the American Red Cross. : Computer Connections, National City Bank, Agway Energy, Krispy Kreme Donuts, Smithton Church of the Nazarene and the 14th Quartermaster Army Reserve Unit.

The Annual Red Cross Philanthropic Award was presented to the Mickley family and the First Evangelical Lutheran Church of Greensburg . Virginia Hall received the Clara Barton Award. Sandy Himler received the Spirit of Excellence Award for Employees.

Al Barnett, Joe Beyer, Denise Bixby, Don Bixby, Jack Brigaman, Andy Boytim, Virginia Hall, Norma Heide, Bob Himler, Sandy Himler, Marilyn Hults, Jere Kennelty, Chris Koring, Eugene Kolbosky, Jeanne Livingston, Donna Lynn, Kathy Mears, Heather McHugh, Ellen Panebianco, Judy Planert, Bob Rhody, Ellen Sheehan, Jane Six, Lukas Toth, John Weir and Lois Wiers were recognized for completing 500 or more hours of service during the past year.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

click me