ShareThis Page

Area schools name valedictorians

| Thursday, May 10, 2012, 5:14 p.m.

Editor's note: This article was modified Monday, June 7, 2004, to correct the spelling of Nicole E. Bielick's name.

The following students were named valedictorian and salutatorian of their graduating classes:

  • Belle Vernon Area High School: Valedictorian is Marie C. Jennewine; salutatorian is Jonathan C. Porter.

  • Burrell High School: Did not name a valedictorian. Class speakers are Joanna Lee McVey and Christina Angela Dastolfo.

  • Derry Area High School: Co-valedictorians are Mitch DePree and Jason McCullough.

  • Franklin Regional High School: Valedictorian is Shavitri Ananda Mahendiran; class speaker is Rashi Venkataraman.

  • Greater Latrobe High School: Valedictorian is Yusha Liu; salutatorian is Louis Steiner.

  • Greensburg Central Catholic High School: Did not name a valedictorian. Principal's Award winners with a 4.15 grade point average or higher are Alexander Miller, Bradley Miller, Katherine Pomerleau, Brandon Shutty, Jonathan Stem, Carlene Ulish and Jacqueline Wilhelmy.

  • Greensburg Salem High School: Did not name a valedictorian. Class speakers are Nichole E. Bielick, Stephen J. DeMatteo and Cara Spencer.

  • Hempfield Area High School: Top five graduates are Jennifer Gillett, Andrew Hamilton, Alexa Talamo, Jamie Wichrowski and Brian Wolfgang.

  • Jeannette High School: Valedictorians are Scott Bold, Ian Brown, Scott Empfield, Michael Salvatore and Katie Slaughter.

  • Kiski Area High School: Speakers are Adam Haag, Christopher Lucas and Lena Tobin.

  • Laurel Valley High School: Speaker is Erin Mack. Valedictorian and salutatorian will be announced Monday.

  • Ligonier Valley High School: The valedictorian and salutatorian will be announced Monday morning. Amanda Barnhart will deliver the commencement address.

  • Monessen High School: Co-valedictorians are Kathryn Margaret Fromcia and Zachary Mark Cerini; salutatorian is Derrick W. Helon.

  • Norwin High School: Valedictorian is Joseph Yurko; salutatorian is Jaclyn Megrey.

  • Penn-Trafford High School: Valedictorian is Daniel Pencoske; salutatorian is Megan Schultz.

  • Southmoreland Senior High School: Valedictorian is Jason A. Yoder; salutatorian is Nicholas Owen Huff.

  • Valley High School: Valedictorian is Jennifer Claassen; salutatorian is Matthew Yeamans.

  • Yough High School: Valedictorian is Steven Ellsworth; salutatorian is Sara Hager.

  • TribLIVE commenting policy

    You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

    We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

    While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

    We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

    We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

    We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

    We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

    We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.

    click me