No surprises among uncontested primary races in North Hills |
TribLive Logo
| Back | Text Size:

Tony LaRussa

A number of candidates in North Hills municipalities with seats up for re-election faced no competition for their party’s nomination in Tuesday’s primary.

A candidate who runs unchallenged in the primary automatically receives their party’s nomination unless a write-in candidate gets more votes.

A minimum of 10 write-in votes are required to qualify for a spot on the ballot in the fall general election in most municipalities. The names of people who received write-in votes are released after they are certified by Allegheny County election officials.

Following are the candidates in uncontested races who won party nominations to run in the Nov. 5 general election:

Bradford Woods

Incumbent Mayor Doug Marsico ran unopposed for the Republican nominee. Ten write-in votes were cast by Democrats to nominate a candidate to run against Marsico.

Incumbent Councilman Thomas Kosmala was the only candidate on the Democratic ticket running in the primary for three nominations. Only six Democrats cast write-in votes.

Two Republicans, Jennifer Griffin and incumbent Councilman Todd Hipwell, were unchallenged in the primary for the three available nominations. Eight write-in votes were cast.

Franklin Park

Representatives from three wards on Franklin Park Borough Council are up for re-election this year.

There were no contested races for those seats in the May 21 primary.

Ward 1

Incumbent Republican Laura Coombs, the council’s second vice president, ran uncontested. No Ward 1 Democrats sought their party nominations, but 84 write-in votes were cast, which means a challenger could emerge to run against Coombs in the fall once the tally has been certified.

Ward 2

Incumbent Ward 2 Councilman John Parks, who serves as the vice president, ran uncontested for a four-year term on council.

He will face Democrat Matt Ferriolo, who also was uncontested for his party’s nomination to run for the four-year term.

Incumbent Lucas Myslinski ran unopposed on the GOP ticket for the two-year Ward 2 council seat.

He will run against Susan Striz, who was unchallenged for the Democratic nomination for the two-year term.

Ward 3

Incumbent Republican Councilman James Lawrence ran unopposed for the nomination.

No Democrats sought the nomination to run in Ward 3, but 75 write-in votes were cast on the ticket, which could produce a challenge for Lawrence in November.


Voters from each major political party will select two candidates to run in the fall for two open seats on the board of supervisors.

There are no Democrats on the ballot seeking nominations.

Incumbent Supervisors Philip Troy, the board’s vice president; and Anthony Candek were the only Republicans on the ballot for the two open seats on the board.

No Democrats ran for supervisor in the primary, but there were 47 write-in votes.


Council seats for Wards 1, 3 5, 7 are up for re-election in the fall.

Ward 1

No Democrats sought party nominations in the primary to run for the Ward 1 council seat.

But Republican incumbent Councilwoman Kim Zachary, who lost the primary nomination to Greg Martin, has indicated that she received enough write-in votes from Democrats to run against Martin in the fall to retain her seat.

Ward 3

Democrat Deawna Marie Alfonsi was unopposed for the Ward 3 nomination. She will face Chuck Mazur, who defeated incumbent Steve Mertz for the GOP nomination.

Ward 5

There were no Democrats on the ballot seeking the Ward 5 nomination. But Angela Woods, who lost the Republican nomination to Joe Beierle, indicates she received enough write-in votes from Democrats to run against Beierle in the fall.

The seat is being vacated by first-term Councilman Greg Walkauskus, who is not seeking re-election.

Ward 7

Incumbent Ward 7 Councilman Bill McKim is not seeking another term.

Only one candidate from each party is ran in the primary to replace McKim — Republican Patrick Semon and Democrat Patricia Cloonan.

They will face off for the seat on Nov. 5.


Seats for Ross Township commissioners representing Wards 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9 are up for re-election in the fall.

But there was only one contested race in the primary for the five seats.

Ward 1

Incumbent Democrat Commissioner Dan DeMarco, who serves as the board’s vice president, received 72.78 percent of the votes to fend off a primary challenge from George Tunney.

In the fall, DeMarco will face Republican Dale Bricker Jr., who ran unopposed in the Republican nomination.

Ward 3

Incumbent Republican Rick Avon is not running for re-election.

Republican Sandra Lee Miller and Democrat Sarah Poweska both won their party’s nomination and will face each other in the fall to replace incumbent Rick Avon, who did not seek the Republican nomination to run for a second term.

Ward 5

Grace Stanko, the incumbent Ward 5 commissioner, was uncontested for the GOP nomination.

Stanko will face William McKellar, who ran unchallenged on the Democratic ticket.

Ward 7

Incumbent Commissioner Pat Mullin, a Democrat, was unopposed for his party’s nomination.

In the fall Mullin will face Paul Trilli, who was the the only candidate on the GOP ticket.

Ward 9

Incumbent Commissioner Jack Betkowski ran unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

He will run for a second term against Grant Montgomery, the lone candidate on the Republican primary ballot.

West View

Incumbent Democrats Kimberly Steele, Donald Mikec and Scott Miller securedparty nominations to run for three three open seats on West View council in the fall.

No Republicans sought party nominations for the seats, but there were 27 write-in votes cast. But if one of the people who received write-ins reaches the 10-vote minimum threshold they could run against the three Democrats in November.

Copyright ©2019— Trib Total Media, LLC (