Newcomer bumps incumbent from Sharpsburg council in primary |
TribLive Logo
| Back | Text Size:

Tawnya Panizzi

A newcomer appears to have bumped an incumbent from Sharpsburg council, according to unofficial primary results from the Allegheny County Elections Bureau.

Adrianne Laing was one of four Democrats seeking the party’s nomination for three four-year seats on council.

Laing was the top vote-getter in the May 21 primary, receiving 248 votes.

Coming in a close second was incumbent Jon Jaso, with 229 votes. Earning the third nomination was incumbent Greg Domian, with 191 votes.

The trio edged out incumbent Larry Trozzo, who got 133 votes.

Trozzo is a two-term councilman who serves as the borough’s planning and zoning chairperson. The retiree is an active member of the Sharpsburg Volunteer Fire Department.

There were no Republicans on the ticket.

Barring a strong write-in campaign, winners will be guaranteed a seat on council following November’s general election.

Laing is a 15-year resident of the borough who served several months on council in 2017 to fill a vacancy. She has volunteered with the District Association and Sharpsburg Environmental Advisory Council.

“I am excited to bring my passion for listening to people, helping them and finding creative solutions to council,” she said.

Domian said he was thankful for the win and looks forward to helping Sharpsburg with its continued revitalization.

“Our town continues to grow at a rapid pace,” he said. “As chairman of the personnel committee, I will closely monitor the borough infrastructure with a proactive approach ensuring a smooth transition as we move forward.”

Jaso also was appreciative of earning the chance to continue serving on local government. He said his main focus will be determining what is best for the borough.

“It may not always be the most popular, but it will be what’s best,” he said.

That includes making sure riverfront development comes with minimal negative impact on the community, he said.

“I also want to make sure that the residents know that they have someone that is looking out for them and their families,” Jaso said.

Other Lower Valley municipalities had only uncontested races.

In O’Hara, two Republican candidates were vying for two open seats. The terms each run four years and represent the township at-large.

Winners are incumbents John Denny of Woodshire Drive, who was first elected to council in 2009; and Bob Smith of Dorseyville Road, who is council president and has served 30 years.

In Fox Chapel, three Republican candidates competed for three seats. Each term runs four years.

Winners are incumbents Ann Meyer of Guyasuta Road, James Royston of Catalpa Ridge Road and Jay Troutman of Riding Trail Lane.

In Blawnox, three Democratic incumbents each will see another four-year term.

They are John Simmons of Freeport Road, first appointed to council in 2017, Katie Coban of Freeport Road, who is a three-term councilwoman, and Elaine Palmer of Summit Drive, who was appointed to fill a council vacancy in 2018.

In Aspinwall, three incumbents will return to council along with one newcomer.

Winners are Democratic incumbent Jeff Harris of Second Street, Democratic newcomer Heth Turnquist of Eastern Avenue and Republican incumbents Tim McLaughlin of Lexington Avenue and David Borland of Third Street.

Copyright ©2019— Trib Total Media, LLC (